Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Still Smashing–Part 1 December 12, 2011

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 5:04 pm

It’s been a while since I’ve shared some Smash book pages on here so I thought I’d do that today. Some of these pages I’ve shared before, but I’ve added more stuff since then. Since there are so many pictures, I’ve split it into two posts.

As I’ve mentioned here before, I’ve been crazy for K&Company’s SMASH collection from the first time I learned of it. The freestyle memory-keeping idea behind it really appealed to me and I loved the design of the books and accessories. The first thing I did was set about collecting all of the available books, one of each style.

These are the unused books tucked into one of the shelves in my desk hutch. Sigh… so pretty…

IMG_8506

When I started purchasing the cool accessories that are included in the SMASH collection, I realized that I would need some portable, practical way to keep them all together and easily accessible. Enter this plastic zippered pouch that I got at Office Depot for $1. It’s small enough to be convenient, but large enough to hold everything in one place.

IMG_8510

This is my “Smash Kit.” All of these items fit in that little pouch perfectly, including the “tools” (inkpad, tape runner and paper clips) that I use to smash.

IMG_8512

So far I’ve only used my original Smash book, the black Mod style. There is so much space to fill in these books! I thought for sure I’d fill this one up in no time at all but it’s been six months and I still have a bunch of empty pages in this one. And trust me, I’m constantly collecting and smashing stuff in here. No restaurant take out menu, movie ticket, Wasabi Zink photo or concert ticket stub is safe!

On this page I used a small paper bag and a sheet of Chinese joss paper to make a pocket that holds takeout menus from some of our favorite restaurants. At the top of the bag I wrote “We love to eat!”  =)

IMG_8515

Some truly awful photobooth pictures taken at the Seattle Center, bits of leftover Washi paper, a clothing tag, an embossed card my friend made and a vintage image.

IMG_8516

Postcard from an art show and a prayer card from a funeral (I love religious imagery), and a watercolor print I found online.

IMG_8518

Just getting some random thoughts down, along with a favorite photo and ampersand print. I’m a total typography nerd.

IMG_8519

Tickets and memorabilia from sporting events and other outings.

IMG_8520

Movie ticket stubs and smashpad lists of our favorite movies.

IMG_8521

More random thoughts and pictures, a Celia Cruz postage stamp and a Harajuku Lovers tag from a handbag.

IMG_8522

A list of concerts I’ve been to and a few ticket stubs.
(A few days after this picture was taken I also added a picture of Mike Herrera from MxPx, whom we saw perform in Stuart, FL last week, in the top right corner.)

IMG_8524

Random collection of tags, an expired Jungle Island annual pass, Starbucks card and cup sleeve.

IMG_8525

That’s it for Part 1. Part 2 coming up later.

 

Leave a Reply

