Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Up all night* September 27, 2011

Filed under: Life,Music — Lulu @ 9:55 pm

As mentioned in my previous post, Fanless and I went to the Honda Civic Tour at the Cruzan Amphitheater in West Palm on Friday night. The bands this time around were Matt & Kim (yeah, I don’t know either), My Chemical Romance and Blink 182.

 

The last time we we were at Cruzan – also to see Blink 182, coincidentally – we got there a bit late and had to sit pretty far back on the lawn (which wouldn’t have been so bad had it not been about 800*F outside and were we not completely surrounded by 10,000 drunk and sweaty teenagers). This time I insisted we get there early so that we could get front row seating on the lawn. We also chose to sit in the family section so there would be less chance of drunken rowdiness. That all actually worked out pretty well, plus the night was cooler than usual, thanks to the thunder storms earlier in the day. Definitely a much better experience than the prior time we were there.

 

So I tried to get some pictures but they were barely salvageable. Here are the better ones from the night. And I’m using the term “better” loosely. VERY loosely.

 

Matt & Kim. I didn’t really care for them, but Fanless thought they were okay.

XXIMG_8275

My Chemical Romance. I know exactly two songs from them. And one I only know from season 2 of “GLEE.”

XXIMG_8290

I really liked this spider backdrop they had. It was some kind of mesh, so the clouds you see on it are the actual clouds in the sky. Pretty neat.

XXIMG_8291

Blink 182. They had a lot of really cool digital backgrounds that would change for every song. I tried to get pictures of them but my camera kept trying to focus on the strobe or laser lights they used and the picture would blur out.

XXIMG_8299

Travis Barker’s first drum solo.

XXIMG_8301

I think maybe this was during the last song before the encore?

XXIMG_8302

For the encore Travis Barker had a “floating” drum set. This would be “SUPER AWESOME!”… if Buddy Rich and Tommy Lee hadn’t already done it in the 60s and 80s, respectively. I still give him props for being a good drummer.

XXIMG_8309

 

All in all it was a good show and only one obnoxious guy slightly pissed me off the entire night (no, not Fanless).

 

So that’s it for now. Peace out, yo!

 

* ”Up All Night” is the first single from Blink 182’s new album, ‘Neighborhoods.’

 

Leave a Reply

