Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Best Surprise Ever! September 26, 2011

Filed under: Life,Personal — Lulu @ 2:07 am

So this was totally going to be a post about the Blink 182 concert Fanless and I went to on Friday night. But then this happened…

 

 

The story: My sister called me on Wednesday night to ask if I had weekend plans. I told her we were going to a concert on Friday night, but nothing else was going on. She then told me that my cousin, Tommy, was going to have the family over on Saturday afternoon to celebrate my aunt’s (my mom’s sister) 75th birthday. I told her we would try to make it if we weren’t too exhausted from Friday night. Then she said “Oh, Pepi and Julie (my cousin that lives in Tennessee – Tommy’s brother – and his wife, whom I adore) are flying in and they want to see you.”

 

On Saturday morning I told Fanless that I really didn’t want to go to the birthday party because I was so, SOOO tired from the night before. The concert had been held at the Cruzan Amphitheater, an hour away from us, so by the time we got out of there, got something to eat afterwards and got back home to SoBe, it was almost 3:00AM. I could barely open my eyes on Saturday.

 

But the more I thought about it, the more I was like “no, we have to go. I want to see my cousin (turns out he came alone because his wife had to work) and it’s my aunt’s 75th birthday. We have to go. No excuses.” So we got ready and headed out. When I got to the house and parked the car, I heard my cell phone ringing in my purse. I pulled it out and saw I had three missed calls from my sister. I turned to Fanless with an annoyed look and said “why is she calling me so much? I told her I’d come.” So I open the front door to the house and my sister is standing there and she’s like “HI!!!” and gives me a long hug. She was very happy. Like super-duper EXTRA happy. In my head I was like “WTH is wrong with her?” (She was acting weird, is what I’m saying.)

 

Anyway, next I say hello to my brother-in-law, then I see my aunt and I wish her a happy birthday and give her a hug, then said hi to Tommy’s wife, Marcy. Okay, so at that moment I’m talking to Marcy and I look over towards the hallway behind the dining room and I see my mom. Except in my head my mom is in Panama. So this entire thought process went through my head in about 2.2 seconds:

“Hey, that’s looks like my mom. But my mom is in Panama. So that’s not my mom. That’s my aunt. No, wait. My aunt is standing next to me. I just said hi to her. Oh hey, look. That’s my dad.  I guess my parents are here… Wait, what???… HOLY SHIT!!! MY PARENTS ARE HERE!!!!”

I know the video above is crappy (my cousin shot it on his phone and when he sent it to me it got compressed which downgraded the quality), but if you watch it again, you can see the exact moment that I did a double take and had the train of thought above. It’s pretty funny. And I got pretty emotional because even though my mom has come to visit a few times, I haven’t seen my dad since they moved in July of 2008. It was when I saw him that I really freaked out.

 

My parents are going to be here for two whole months because my dad has to have cataract surgery, which he has been putting off since before they moved, and go through the recovery and follow-up and all that. My sister and her husband have a trip to Panama planned for November, so my parents will fly back with them at that time.

 

As I told Fanless as we were leaving Tommy’s house that night, “Wow, that was the best surprise ever! I don’t think anything could top that.” To which he replied, “Yeah, that was a pretty good one!”

 

And here are a few photos.

 

My dad and me.

092411_medadXX

L-R: Pepi, my aunt, Tommy, Marcy, Marcy’s parents and brother (my sister’s ex-husband).

092411_lopezllanesXX

Pepi and me. We’re each other’s favorite cousin.

092411_mepepixx

My aunt and her boys.

092411_tiaboys2XX

My parents and my niece.

092411_yvimomdadXX

 

So that’s it for now. Peace out, yo!

 

One Response to “Best Surprise Ever!”

  1. Amanda Says:

    What an awesome surprise! =)


Leave a Reply

