Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Yee-Haw! September 21, 2011

Filed under: Life,Sports — Lulu @ 11:38 pm

I can’t believe I completely forgot to blog about our rodeo outing a couple weeks ago! Yes, people; I went to a rodeo. My first ever! Okay, well, it wasn’t a full-on rodeo. There was no roping or barrel racing or anything like that. This one was just Championship Bull Riding (you have to capitalize it, it’s that cool) at the Bergeron Rodeo Grounds in Davie, FL.

 

Fanless, Eric and I met up with our friends, the Dean and the Chin families, and took some goofy pictures before the event.

IMG_8231xx

 

It probably would have been way more exciting if we weren’t sitting so far from the chute the bulls come out of. It’s that red gated area aaaaallll the way over to the right side of the photo. Who knew going to the rodeo is like checking in for a flight? Apparently you need to get there a couple of hours early because the place was super-packed. On the plus side, because we were so far away we couldn’t smell any bull poop, so that was good.

IMG_8217 

 

This was the part with the singing of the National Anthem.

IMG_8224xx

 

I don’t remember what this guy’s purpose was. I think he was supposed to rope the runaway bulls?

IMG_8227

 

Like this guy. (That was a super zoomed in picture, hence the graininess. But check out the size of that bull!)

IMG_8228

 

A really terrible picture of a very hot and sweaty trio (Eric, me and Fanless). Seriously, they need to invest in some giant ceiling fans in that place. Oh, and do not adjust the color balance on your monitor; I really AM that white.

IMG_8233

 

Poor Charlie. After an hour she was rodeo’ed out, sweet little thing.

IMG_8234xx

 

After the rodeo, Fanless and I took Eric to Joe’s Crab Shack. He’d never been and it’s one of our favorite places. Here he is getting ready to wash down his steampot with a gigantic mug of Blue Moon.

IMG_8236xx

 

Eric’s very first steampot ever! He did not leave a single morsel behind.

IMG_8237xx

 

And this was Fanless’. He got his usual, the Ragin’ Cajun.

IMG_8238

 

I got the crab nachos. They were huge! I think I ate about 1/8 of that.

IMG_8240

 

And that was our night! We had a great time and we’re actually planning to go back in November for the “real” rodeo.

 

That’s all for now. Peace out, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

