Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

winner winner, chicken dinner July 29, 2011

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 10:47 pm

I don’t typically enter contests or giveaways, but a couple of weeks ago the Moxie Fab crafts blog was doing one of their weekly sponsor giveaways, for a really cute set of acrylic stamps from a company called WPlus9 Design Studio. I’d never heard of them but the stamps pictured were cute so I thought “what the heck” and left a comment on the post. This was a few days before my birthday and with all the fiascos of that weekend, I had all but forgotten about the giveaway.

 

A couple of days later I was scrolling through my Google Reader subscriptions and lo and behold, what did I see??

 

I won! Woo-hoo!!

 

Listen, I never win anything. And with the trying weekend I’d had, this was the happiest news in the world at that moment. The stamps arrived in the mail this week and they are SO cute!

 

Yay! I LOVE happy mail! They sent me five – FIVE – full sets of stamps. (Sorry for the poor images; I only had my desk lamp on and didn’t edit the photos prior to posting.)

 IMG_8138

Design Basics Backgrounds II (this is probably my favorite.)

IMG_8141 

The Birds & The Bees (that heart-shaped butterfly trail is too cute.)

IMG_8142

Postmarked (this is perfect for personalizing birthday cards with the date.)

IMG_8143 

Mehndi Medallions (this is my second favorite and the round images work well with circle punches.)

IMG_8144

Funky Flowers (I love that little owl!)

IMG_8145

 

I read up on the company and found out that it is a home-grown business. WPlus9 Design Studio is independently owned and operated by graphic designer Dawn Woleslagle. From their website:

Our stamps are made of high quality clear photo-polymer and manufactured in the United States exclusively for Wplus9 Design Studio.  They are of exceptional quality which will be obvious from the first impression!

The quality of the stamps is evident. I tested several of them with both fluid chalk and pigment-based inks. The designs are lovely and they stamp beautifully. Even the teeny little sentiments stamped very cleanly with no smudging or “ghost” images along the edges. I’ll be sure to share some pics as soon as I get to make some real projects with them.

 

That’s all for now. Peace out, yo!

 

One Response to “winner winner, chicken dinner”

  1. How cool! Love the stamps.


Leave a Reply

