Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Na-na, na-na, na-na, They say it’s your birthday! July 18, 2011

Filed under: Life,Miscellany — Lulu @ 10:33 pm

My birthday was yesterday and it was certainly one I won’t easily forget. No, not an epic, party-filled, whirlwind of fun. Please allow me to recap my “Murphy’s Law” birthday weekend for you…

 

On Friday night I accidentally sliced my finger open (again) with the blade part of my Martha Stewart Circle Cutter. This thing:

See that teeny little blade in the handle part (on the left?) Yeah, THAT! That little effer is SHARP!! Hurt like a bitch and bled like crazy, too.

 

Saturday morning I headed over to the beach to stay at Fanless’, as usual. On the way over I stopped at Target to pick up a few things and discovered, while in the check out line, that I didn’t have my ATM/Debit card. No problem, I thought; it’s probably in the car. Umm… it was so NOT in the car. I checked under the seats and floor mats, took everything out of my wallet and purse. Not there either. So then I had to call Bank of America to cancel it and request a new one, and was informed it would take at least a week. However, the agent I spoke to did wish me a happy birthday. So that was nice.

 

On Sunday we had planned to go see “Transformers: Dark of the Moon” (which I keep mistakenly calling “Bark at the Moon”; too much Ozzy, I guess) at the IMAX 3D in Aventura Mall. Turns out the new Harry Potter movie displaced Transformers so it’s no longer showing at the IMAX. We decided to just stay in and relax, which was fine with me. We ended up ordering pizza and Fanless bought me a slice of chocolate cake from the Argentine restaurant across the street.

photo

The photo cracks me up. Fanless took the picture and I immediately sent it to my cousin, Jose. (The joke in my family is that when we were kids every single birthday party picture has me and my cousins standing behind the table with the cake as the centerpiece, a tray of bocaditos and a bottle of Pepsi. See below for evidence.)

35114_447784467227_737872227_5928101_1652784_n

I couldn’t even tell you whose birthday party that was because ALL of our pictures were like that.

 

Anyway, I usually leave the beach immediately following The Glades, which ends at 11pm. Last night we decided to watch Falling Skies as well, but Fanless’ mom called to wish me a happy birthday and we ended up chatting with her for quite a while. By the time we finished the show it was 1AM. I gathered my stuff and walked down to my car and… it wouldn’t start. Like, at all.

 

So I marched myself back to Fanless’ apartment and called Geico’s roadside assistance to request a jump start. They advised it would be about 40 minutes. Over an hour later, the guy from the tow company called to let me know that the driver originally headed my way got a flat tire (irony?) so they were sending someone else. The dude finally showed up at about 2:45AM. By the time I got home it was 3:30AM. And then I found someone parked in my assigned spot, so I had to park in someone else’s space. In the middle of writing a note of explanation to leave on my dashboard for the rightful owner of the spot I had pilfered, my car died again. 

 

Now. If that isn’t a Murphy’s Law birthday weekend, I don’t know what is. =)

 

But… It wasn’t all bad. My honey got me some beautiful jewelry for my gifts. This gorgeous, vintage-looking amber ring:

IMG_8080

And this beautiful, silver, anchor ring and matching earrings (I’m really loving nautically-themed accessories lately):

IMG_8097 IMG_8099

So that was my exciting birthday weekend. I think I’m done celebrating now.

 

Peace out, yo!

 

3 Responses to “Na-na, na-na, na-na, They say it’s your birthday!”

  1. Sounds like fun to me! Murphy was sending you a happy B-day, hahahah 😀
    Lovely gifts and I love the Pepsi pics. We all have those.
    Love you ❤

  2. Balou Says:

    Umm… Have you been hitting the tequila bottle? If your idea of fun includes injuries, lost credit cards and expensive car repairs, then I am very worried for you! Shittiest birthday ever.

    ❤ u, too

  3. ady abreu Says:

    Hi Lou, I’m sorry your birthday was a bust!!! I’m sorry I’m a lousy friend because I was in CHA and totally forgot to look at my birthday list… Your ring is beautiful though… At least you’ll enjoy looking at it. Luv you lots…


Leave a Reply

