Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

The Island of misfit toys July 6, 2011

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 9:51 pm

You know that 1964 “Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer” stop-motion animated TV special they show every year around Christmas time?

You know the part where he runs away to the Island of Misfit Toys?

You know when they sing the song about being misfit toys?

 

Yeah, that’s pretty much what pops into my head every time I look at my pile of incomplete mini-albums.

 

That “Family” album on the left? That’s from Teresa Collins’ 2008 (I think) releases. It’s decorated, it’s bound, yet there is not a single photo in it. The blue “Friends” album is also Teresa Collins’. I made it during the scrapbook retreat I went to in Sanibel… in 2009. It’s also decorated and bound. And completely empty. The hot pink album is only about 25% done; no photos, no embellishments, just patterned paper. The teeny tiny Urban Rhapsody album? All decorated, no photos.
IMG_7850

Ahh, let’s see… Here we have seven – SEVEN! – additional albums that are in various stages of completion. The “Love” album at the bottom right is pretty much done, but – go ahead, guess… Yep, no pictures. Same with the round butterfly album at the top row center and the mini flower album at the bottom row center. The “This Is Me” album was started in 2007 based on this website. I think I did about 8 of the prompts then got bored. The other three have patterned paper on all the pages and… that’s it.
IMG_7847

 

*Sigh*…  I‘m not sure what I’m going to do with these. But I’m telling you, every single time I look at them, I hear this:

 

2 Responses to “The Island of misfit toys”

  1. ady abreu Says:

    Oh how we all go through the same road. I have 3 of those that come to mind but I have either sold or given away the other 10 or so of the non completed albums. Its a disease I tell ya… We need to make a support group. LOL

  2. Hahahah! Now I’m gonna see and hear the same things when I look at the huge basketful of unfinished minis I have (psst… we all have those. The shame!!!)
    Maybe we’ll do a crop just to finish our books. Ha!


Leave a Reply

