Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Baby, Baby, Baby, Ohhh…* April 30, 2011

Filed under: Life,Personal,Photography — Lulu @ 7:29 pm

*A Bieber reference. I think I can officially say I’ve reached a new low.

 

I attended my sweet friend Vanessa’s baby shower earlier today. The theme was vintage and “nesting”, so there were all these lovely little details relating to birds and all things retro.

 

She had a candy bar set up in the dining room which had all kinds of “old school” sweets like candy dots, gumballs, and big lollipops.

IMG_7672

At the entrance to the house there was a milkglass bowl with tags and pens for the guests to write their wishes for baby Grace. The wishes would then be dropped inside a vintage birdcage.

IMG_7678  IMG_7677

There were really cute handmade touches everywhere, like this display of baby pictures of Vane and her hubby, Richard.

IMG_7680 

Lunch was served outside and the place settings were vintage-y mason jars with each guest’s picture on them (the jars were for use with the candy bar; cute, huh?). Each guest also received a little bird’s nest with a pink egg-shaped soap (inside the box with the brown ribbon) as a thank you gift. Very sweet.

IMG_7681 

The centerpieces were white and cream (I think?) baby roses inside of larger mason jars, wrapped with paper doilies and a cutout silhouette of a bird, then tied with a piece of string.

IMG_7683 

The gift table. I can not possibly tell you how many adorable, tiny, pink things were in there, but suffice it to say there was a lot of “Awww”-ing when she was opening the gifts later. And another friend, Maritza, who is a gifted sewer, gave her the most beautiful, handmade baby quilt that was personalized with Grace’s name. I wish I had thought to get a picture of it because it was truly gorgeous.

IMG_7684

The food was delicious. Very “tea party”-like and all prepared with love by Damaris.

IMG_7685

A vintage-y tin bucket held all the drinks which were in retro-style glass bottles.

IMG_7686

The mommy-to-be showing off the beautiful mommy bracelet that our friend, Esther, made for her. It’s similar to a Pandora-style bracelet, with all the little beads and charms, but it says “Gracie” and has pearls (the baby is due June 28th and pearl is the birthstone for June) and a little butterfly.

IMG_7687

Dessert was cupcakes from Misha’s.  Let me just take a moment to express my sadness at missing out on the red velvet cupcakes. There were only five of them and by the time I made it to the front they were all gone. (Insert real tears here.) Vanessa found the antique scale on Etsy and it will become a décor piece in the baby’s room post-shower.

IMG_7688  IMG_7689

Again, the red velvet cupcakes (green icing) are just there, tormenting me. I had to settle for a lesser than, regular vanilla cupcake. Disgraceful, I tell you!

IMG_7691  IMG_7692

Anyway, everything was beautiful; the food was delicious; and everyone had a really nice time. Thank you, Vane, for letting me be part of your special day!!

 

Peace out, yo!

 

3 Responses to “Baby, Baby, Baby, Ohhh…*”

  1. Maritza Says:

    Awesome post and beautiful pictures. Thanks for the mention. What a beautiful shower.

  2. Vanessa Says:

    Thank u so much Lou 🙂 these pics are awesome and I loved having u there to celebrate with me 🙂 Ady, Damaris and my cuz Jessie really outdid themselves!! xoxo

  3. Damaris Rios Says:

    hi my beautiful friend, I am so glad you had a good time. I love seeing you so it was a great to get together and celebrate such a blessed time in our friend Vane’s life. Just so you know..I got half of the red velvet when everyone went home…I took Vane’s…just for the record..the cake mixture itself was delicious, but then as I was chewing…I felt to my surprise…CHOCOLATE CHIPS…WTH? It could have been a perfect 10..but it went down to a 4 with those darn choc. chips!!! WHo does that to red velvet? It’s simply wrong on every level!!!! LOL
    Love you a bunch,
    Damaris


Leave a Reply

