Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

=( March 30, 2011

Filed under: Life,Personal — Lulu @ 6:17 pm

 

Fanless and I just got back from Washington last night. Sadly, his grandpa Bud passed away last week after a long battle with cancer. I didn’t know Grandpa Bud that well since I’ve only spent a few days total with him since Fanless and I started dating. But I can tell you that he was a great man. Very kind and caring. He was incredibly loved and well-respected. I think there had to be at least 100 or more people at his funeral and there was not a dry eye in the house.

 

They also had three Navy sailors in dress uniform perform the presentation of the flag (Grandpa was in the Navy towards the end of WWII). I never realized how emotional that part could be. It was bad enough when the guy with the bugle played “Taps”, but when they did the flag folding (in complete silence, I might add) and then presented it to Grandma Rosanne, and said “On behalf of the President of the United States and the Chief of Naval Operations, please accept this flag as a symbol of our appreciation for your loved one’s service to this Country and a grateful Navy,” well… we just pretty much lost it. (I’m talking full on ugly cry here). But Grandma. Goodness that woman is amazing. She held it together. She simply smiled at that sailor and said “okay, thank you” and placed the flag in her lap. She was stoic and brave all throughout. And even though she was sad – she and Grandpa had known each other their whole lives – she later said that she got her strength from him. (I’m crying again.)

 

It wasn’t all sad, though. Mostly we spent time with family and listened to funny family stories and enjoyed just being together. I have to say, my in-laws are pretty great.

 

Anyway, here is the obituary from the program they gave out. 

 

grandpa1 

grandpa2

 

And that’s all.

 

2 Responses to “=(”

  1. Amanda Says:

    Please let Fanless know that I extend my condolences to him and his family.

    I went to a military burial once, it’s very touching.

  2. Vanessa Says:

    So sorry for your loss!!! It sounds like Grandpa Bud had an extraordinary life!! xoxo to you and Fanless


Leave a Reply

