Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Currents October 22, 2010

Filed under: Life,Miscellany,Personal,Random Thoughts — Lulu @ 5:58 pm

listening: “Night at the Museum” on the TV behind me (and I just realized that Attila the Hun in this movie is the same guy that played Coach Tanaka on “Glee”!)
eating: nothing at the moment.
drinking: nothing.
wearing: black cargo shorts, black tank top, flip flops.
feeling: a little hungry.
weather: haven’t been outside today but it looks nice out..
wanting: dinner!
needing: to put away laundry.
thinking: about our trip to WA in December.
enjoying: nothing at the moment.
wondering: what I’ll make for dinner.

 

Just a thought…

 

Sometimes I am really amazed by the kindness of friends. I think, in general, we tend to waste too much thought and energy on people that hurt us or have been negative towards us. It’s human nature. But we never really focus energy on those that are kind to us. Sure, we may be grateful and we may say thank you, but we don’t linger on those thoughts. We tend to linger on the hurtful experiences, remembering what was said or done to us, and maybe thinking of ways we could have reacted better. But I think the world would be such a better place if we could flip the switch on that behavior. If we could push away the hurt and negative feelings quickly, and really focus our thoughts and energy on the positive people we have in our lives, on what they mean to us, and how much better they make things. So for the rest of today I am going to think about those people that have been kind to me, that have done nice things for me, that make me feel grateful for their presence in my life. Just writing that puts a smile on my face. =)

 

Happy weekend, all! Peace out!

 

2 Responses to “Currents”

  1. ady abreu Says:

    You are absolutely right… My mind always focuses on the negative and than I dwell on how I could have handled it differently.

  2. Vanessa Says:

    Hi my friend 🙂 I totally agree! It’s always good to focus on the positive and the kindness of friends and to let them know they make a difference in your life!!! 🙂 HUGS!!!


Leave a Reply

