Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

When Everything that dies Shall Rise* October 7, 2010

Filed under: Photography — Lulu @ 12:01 am

I was browsing through my Flickr account, looking for a specific photo, when I came across these pics I took at the Miami City Cemetery back in 2007. I honestly can’t remember if I ever posted them to my blog (and since Blogger decided to be an asshole and lock up my old blog account, I can’t even go back and check) but I thought I would share some of my favorites here anyway.

 

(Text below directly from the Miamigov.com site.)

Located on the edge of downtown lies the city’s oldest cemetery. The City Cemetery was created in 1887, a year after the City of Miami was incorporated. It is one of the few cemeteries where the owners of the plot actually hold a deed to the land where the plot is situated.

In 1983 the cemetery was classified as a historic landmark and in the years since it has been through a series of repairs, refurbishment and improvements which continue to happen thanks to the support of local foundations including the Dade Heritage Trust.

With close to 10,000 plots, in it’s earliest use the cemetery was split into two parcels, one for whites and one for blacks, then in 1915 the City sold two lots to B’nai Zion, the first Jewish synagogue. These lots were walled following Jewish tradition and the walls can still be seen today.

Many of Miami’s founders are buried in the City Cemetery. Well known names we come in contact with on a daily basis today such as Burdine, Peacock, Tuttle, Duval, Sewell and Jackson can be visited. Veterans of the Civil War, Spanish-American War and World War I and II can also be found here, marking the time line of the City of Miami’s history and what our City has lost and gained during it’s 117 year existence.

Currently between 10 and 20 burials occur every year at the City Cemetery. Operated by the City of Miami Parks and Recreation’s Operation Department, they maintain the property’s building, facilities and grounds. Tombstones and gravesite maintenance is the sole responsibility of the plot owner.

*Post title from this song by The The, inspired by photo above.

 

2 Responses to “When Everything that dies Shall Rise*”

  1. Penny Lambeth Says:

    Your photos of the Miami City Cemetery are lovely. I chair the restoration committee and would like permission to use them. We’ve been on this project for nearly twelve years. Hope you like the way it looks. Thank you.

  2. Vanessa Says:

    Your photos really are beautiful. And I love the sepia tones… Thanks for sharing 🙂


Leave a Reply

