Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Craft Area Redo – Part 2 August 25, 2010

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 8:15 pm

As promised, more detailed photos of the scrap room reorganization. I’ll try to be brief, but as informational as possible. (Warning: Photo Heavy!)

 

So let’s start with the new shelf, from top to bottom…

 

On top of the shelf are: Lesser used items

  1. Back – (boxes) Some newer items that I haven’t used yet and I’m saving for later.
  2. Back – (clear plastic bin) Mini-albums that are assembled/decorated, but have no photos.
  3. Front Row – (pink wire basket) Completed mini-albums; (silver basket and little box) ATCs I’ve received in swaps; (Hello Kitty bucket) Exacto blades, large bottles of Mod Podge and UTEE, and gluesticks.

topshelf

 

First Shelf: Alphas and the majority of my embellishments

  1. Far left – (back, not shown) All my Thickers; (front, pink wire basket) other non-Thickers alphas.
  2. Center – (pink and purple baskets) Miscellaneous embellishments, ie, stickers, chipboard shapes, ghost shapes, etc.
  3. Far right – (back, not shown) There are 3 clear cases holding my wood-mounted and larger acrylic stamps/sets (in their own packaging). On top of those are 2 pink containers. The bottom one holds decorative tapes (mostly MM and HS); the top one holds buttons (misc/open stock). Next to that stack, are thick chipboard diecuts and stickers from 3 Birds (in their own packaging), American Crafts chipboard shapes, and a small jar of mini-chipboard letters.
  4. Front – (silver tins) L to R: (1) chipboard letters, (2) journaling cards and tags, and (3) Dymo labelmaker and buttons (in their own packaging).

shelf-1

 

Second Shelf: Kits, books and embellies

  1. Back row – The left half are collections from specific brands (MM, K&Co, BG, etc). The right half are kits (mostly Noel Mignon). On the far right are a few idea books (The Dares, Elsie’s 52 Scrapbooking Challenges, etc.)
  2. Front row, L to R – (pink basket) Adhesive/refills for my tape runners; (top, pink & blue lunchbox) Mini ribbon spools and “stiffer” ribbons; (bottom, clear pink box) Small ribbon spools; (top, in jar) Lace and ribbon scraps; (bottom, dark pink container) Mini-staplers, colored staples, corner rounders; (green mini lunchboxes) Tiny embellies such as brads and bling; (far right) Crate Paper chipboard alphas.

shelf-2

 

Third Shelf: (This one is probably the easiest to get through)

  1. Back row – paper pads/packs and open stock paper
  2. Front row, L to R – (bottom) Alpha stickers from the $1 store (like wannabe Thickers); (white mini-bucket) Miscellaneous tools, deco scissors (I never use these but I think they look pretty in the carousel); (striped box) Larger ribbon spools; (Hello Kitty zipper case) Fabric and paper flowers; (blue bucket) punches.

shelf-3

 

This is a semi-sideview of the entire shelf. I skipped the bottom shelf (where you see the pink shoebox-looking things) because it’s just seasonal/holiday collections, scraps (I save them for cards, bookmarks, etc) and misc items, like markers and ephemera.

sideshelf

Punches are what I use most often, so I wanted them within easy reach when I’m sitting at the table. This basket holds Martha Stewart and Tonic punches. (See photo above.)

punches1

 

My table top:

desktop

 

The left side of my table:

L to R –

  1. (black carousel) My most often used tools, ie, scissors, exacto knives, paper piercer, glue pens, etc.
  2. (clear drawers) Date stamp, stamp pad, hole punch and journaling pens/markers
  3. (pink carousel) Tape runners, pop dots, and small glue bottles
  4. (pink mini-tower) Larger or shaped brads, clips, etc
  5. (back) Large bottle of Alene’s Tacky Glue
  6. Colorbox ink; mini alpha stamps
  7. On the wall, are my embroidery thread/needles (in the pink pouch) and all my rulers (I just put a small nail in the wall and all the rulers have holes that I can hang them from)

left1

 

The right side of my table:

L to R:

  1. (silver tin) Photos to be scrapped
  2. (Making Memories organizer) Large paper trimmer, small paper trimmer, stapler, Corner Chomper, foam tape, liquid glue, BasicGrey precision file set. (The drawers just have stuff like scoring blades, foam sponges for inking, and Dymo refill tape.)

right1

 

To the right of the table are more punches (mostly Fiskars border punches) that I wanted within easy reach. Just below the basket is my Crop-o-Dile (in its own case).

right2

The basket of punches sits on top of this rack that holds my cardstock, also within easy reach.

right4

 

So that’s it – my new, ultra-organized, super-convenient, craft space. I love it!

 

2 Responses to “Craft Area Redo – Part 2”

  1. ady abreu Says:

    your newly renovated area looks great. How do we manage to collect so much. My room looks like a dump site. Everything that doesn’t look good in the rest of the house lands in that room. It’s awful but everytime I try to organize, I end up scrapbooking instead. LOL

  2. balou Says:

    I know! Did you see the ridiculous amount of paper and kits I have?? WTH?
    And, yes, whenever I have something that doesn’t fall into the bedroom, living room or kitchen categories, it ends up in this room. Total dumping ground.


Leave a Reply

