Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Craft Area Redo – Part 1 August 25, 2010

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 6:43 pm

Disclaimer: Some of these pics were taken with my phone at about 1:30AM, so they are not the greatest quality.

 

For my birthday, Fanless got me an industrial-ish shelf from Home Depot that I had been wanting for my scrap/craft area. I had previously been using these narrow bookshelves:

oldroom

…(they’re the kind you get at places like Office Depot for $20) – for storing my scrap supplies and they were so cramped and not at all useful.

 

This new shelf is intended for use in a basement or garage-type storage, so the shelves are much wider and deeper, and each shelf is higher, than my old ones. My goal was to have all my stuff stored in one place.

shelf3

Can I just say right here and now that this is most super-awesome, mega-fantastic, absolute-bestesest birthday gift ever??

 

So after making this huge mess last night (and this only 1/2 of it; you can’t see the other side of the room that looks 10 times worse)…

mess1

And working into the wee hours  (okay, really, it was more like 1AM-ish, so not that wee), I finally ended up with a craft area that looked like this:

room2

(Ooh… I guess my camera lens is dirty. Ignore the spots on the wall. They are not there IRL.)

And with the exception of some stamping stuff (clear stamps, embossing powders, acrylic blocks) and some blank mini-albums I haven’t worked on yet, which are in the drawer/cabinet thingy you see on the far left), all of my scrap supplies are contained on that shelf and in the paper rack on the right side of the desk.

 

More detailed photos to follow in the next post…

 

Leave a Reply

