Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Back When MTV Actually Played Music… July 13, 2010

Filed under: Music,Random Thoughts,Video — Lulu @ 3:04 pm

For the past few days I have been totally obsessed with listening to these old songs that I loved in my teens and 20s. I don’t know if I’m feeling nostalgic because my birthday is in four days or what, but truthfully, they are pretty great songs!

 

“Disappear” – INXS

Man, I loved INXS.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Serously, listen to the lyrics of this song: “…But when I see you coming I can take it all, You’re so fine, Lose my mind, And the world seems to disappear, All the problems, all the fears, And the world seems to disappear.”  Love conquers all, baby! *swoon*  I was lucky enough to see them live at the old Miami Arena downtown, and Michael Hutchence ran down into the audience and passed right by me and my friend, and I remember thinking “wow, he’s so short!” But totally gorgeous. I was so sad when he died. =(

 

 

“Desperate But Not Serious” – Adam & the Ants

I looooved this song!! This was popular in the early days of MTV, but my parents refused to get cable, so I remember my neighbor and I would go to her house every day after school (this was probably around 7th or 8th grade?) and just wait for this video to come on. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In retrospect, I wonder if the character of Captain Jack Sparrow wasn’t at least a little bit inspired by Adam Ant, yeah?

 

 

Sweet Sixteen” – Billy Idol

Awesome. Just a perfect, perfect song. AND (bonus trivia for South Floridians) it’s about our very own Coral Castle! Which I have yet to visit. (Maybe later in the year when being outdoors doesn’t feel like walking on the surface of the sun!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also saw Billy Idol live at the old arena. His opening act was Faith No More! Remember them? With the goldfish? That was a fun show.

 

Dirty Boots” – Sonic Youth

This song is 100% responsible for making me want to wear Doc Maartens.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Plus, Kim Gordon is just about the coolest female on the planet. I’ve never had the chance to see them live though, so that sucks.

 

 

Vienna” – Ultravoxx

So, so cool. Haunting, almost. This was definitely a standout for me amongst all the other synth-pop, New Wave of the time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Midge Ure was a such a great frontman. Beautiful voice.

 

 

“South Central Rain” – REM

I really wanted to marry Michael Stipe. Heck, I probably still would.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m totally blanking out on whether or not I ever got to see REM live. I want to say I did, I feel like I did, but I honestly can’t recall.

 

Ahhh… good times. Alright, the trip down memory lane has come to a stop.

 

Peace out, yo!

 

One Response to “Back When MTV Actually Played Music…”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    I hope you have a wonderful birthday weekend my friend!!! xoxo


Leave a Reply

