Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Scrappiness (SUPER photo-heavy Post) May 30, 2010

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 10:00 am

My good friend, Agi, and her fiancé, Carl, are expecting their first baby around the end of June. When Agi and I went to the Odd Duck Craft Bazaar in Davie a couple of months ago she mentioned that she would like to find something to use as a baby book. We never did find anything. Because Agi is an unconventional, artsy-type chick, I knew that she wouldn’t want a traditional, “froufy”-style, baby book, so I decided to make her an album.

 

I used an 8”x8” Maya Road binder-ring chipboard album as the base. The papers and embellishments are mostly Crate Paper’s Mia Collection and Lillian Collection, and a few miscellaneous items and papers from my stash. I used a couple of border punches and a butterfly punch, as well. I’m pretty happy with how it turned out (this is actually the third incarnation of this baby album; the first two times I started making regular 8.5”x11” scrap pages but I hated the way they were turning out so I trashed them).

 

I decided not to cover the entire outer album because I liked the look of the raw chipboard, so I just used a few pieces of paper, minimal embellishments and chipboard letters from Crate Paper (Aza is the baby’s name; it’s Swahili in origin and means “reflect, think; strong”).

IMG_5986 

First page.  I made it so she could fit 4’”x6” pictures on all the pages, as that is the most common photo size, but could also use 5”x7” on some pages, or even multiple smaller photos (like 3”x3”, 3”x4”, or 4”x4”).

IMG_5989

Pages 2-3. The “Father” title die cut was in the goody bags we received at the scrap retreat in September. The “Daughter” on the opposite page is a rub-on from Crate Paper.

IMG_5991 IMG_5993

Pages 4-5. The statistics journaling block in the bottom left corner was actually lifted from Angie Lucas’ blog. You can’t see it in the picture, but the little bird on the right is glittered.

IMG_5994 IMG_5998

Pages 6-7. I really tried to keep the embellishments simple so that she would have plenty of room for photos or journaling.

IMG_6000 IMG_6002 

Pages 8-9. The “Cute” title is from Colorbok and is glittered.

IMG_6003 IMG_6006

Pages 10-11.  The journaling tag is also from the retreat goody bag. The “Princess” on the right side is layered on brown cardstock, then cut out and mounted on pop dots.

IMG_6008 IMG_6011

Pages 12-13. The green flower was in my Christmas Swap gift from Vane. So pretty.

IMG_6012 IMG_6014 

Pages 14-15. The three little birds are from Crate Paper. I thought it would be cute to have them represent Carl, Agi and the baby.

IMG_6016 IMG_6018

Page 16. I kept this one super simple so she could fill it with journaling or lots of smaller photos, whatever she wants.

IMG_6020

I used Mod Podge and a foam brush to adhere the patterned paper to the chipboard pages, then ran the edge of my bone folder over them to smooth out any bubbles. I rounded the corners with my Crop-o-Dile Corner Chomper, and sanded the edges with a fine grit sanding block (from Home Depot). I inked all the edges with white pigment ink. Most of the embellishments were glued down with either pop dots or Alene’s Tacky Glue (for durability).

 

I also made her a second, smaller (4.5”x6.5”) flipbook-style album where she could record the baby’s “Firsts” (ie, first feeding, first bath, first car ride, etc.). For this one I used a plastic-covered, mini-album that I had in my stash (I think it was from Ady’s birthday party goody bag a couple of years ago), papers from the Making Memories Whimsy collection and two clear stamps from Studio Calico (Storybook Alpha and Journaling Lines). The ink I used for stamping is Ranger Distress Ink in vintage photo. The yellow alphas on the cover are vinyl AC Thickers (I used Tacky Glue to adhere them), and the flower and little tag are from K by Marcella.

IMG_6021 IMG_6023

I used the same format for all the pages (12 in total).

IMG_6026 IMG_6031

 

7 Responses to “Scrappiness (SUPER photo-heavy Post)”

  1. Amanda Says:

    Amazing, you are a Scrapping Superstar!!

  2. ady abreu Says:

    Your friend is going to love it… Yes, that was from my BDay a couple of years ago… What a memory… I love the concept of the second mini. I wish someone would have given that to me when D was born, it would have helped a great deal. She’ll definitely love and appreciate it.

  3. Vanessa Says:

    What a sweet and special gift — she will love it and treasure it always 🙂 so beautiful!!! you did great! I think this counts for at least 10-15 layouts, my friend. LOL!

  4. Angie Lucas Says:

    This is beautiful!

  5. balou Says:

    Thank you! I was pretty happy with the end result and my friend loved it. =)

  6. Agi Says:

    I DO LOVE IT! Just yesterday I was in Aza’s nursery organizing things and couldn’t resist flipping through these two beautiful books. They are truly amazing and I’m so honored and thankful you made something so special for us. Knowing me I would have completely forgot to get any kind of book to record her happenings. I already have some ideas about how to display the books on the wall so I can show ’em off and easily get to them for adding memories. I definitely have to put a pic in there of Aza w/ her Aunt Lou! Xoxo!

  7. balou Says:

    Aww… I’m soooo happy you liked them! I really had a lot of fun making them, but they’ll be even more fun to look at once they are filled with photos and memories. =)

    Can’t wait to meet my new niece!

    xoxo!


Leave a Reply

