Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Friday Night, Last Orders at the Pub* May 17, 2010

Filed under: Life,Miscellany,Personal,Photography — Lulu @ 10:18 pm

* From the song “Friday Night” by Lily Allen

 

You know what’s funny? I could go weeks and weeks without any plans or invitations, then all of a sudden I have two things on the same night. That’s what happened this past Friday night.

 

My BFF was visiting from California for a few days, to help his mom with some home repairs and such, and the only time he would be free to get together was Friday night. That also turned out to be the same night that Kat, a good friend of Fanless’ and mine (me? I? whatever) was celebrating her birthday with dinner and drinks at Brickell Irish Pub in downtown Miami.

 

So I picked up my BFF at his mom’s house at about 4PM and we headed over to the TGI Friday’s at Dolphin Mall. We were there about an hour before we were joined by some other friends from our old job. [A little background: BFF and I met when we were in the same department at my former employer. He thought I had good eyebrows, I thought he had nice hair, we hung out a couple of times and that was that. We’ve been BFFs for about 18 years now.] It was really nice to hang out with some cool people that I’ve missed seeing at work every day. (Now that I work from home, the most human interaction I get on weekdays is when the mailman or UPS guy drop off a package from Noel Mignon or Stop&Scrap.com. Oh, and when the pest control guy comes to spray at the end of the month.)

IMG_5873

My BFF said this picture looks like a color chart! It’s so true!

IMG_5883 

IMG_5884

I had intended to leave Friday’s at about 6:30PM in order to make it to Brickell Irish Pub by 8pm, but you know how it is. We all got to chatting and catching up, and before I knew it, it was about 7:45PM when I finally rushed out of Dolphin Mall and headed downtown. (This is the part where I spare you a whole, long story about how I missed the exit indicated by Google maps and ended up going a different way and got totally lost, and by the time I found the place and managed to grab a parking spot – very scarce in that area – it was almost 9PM when I walked into the pub.)

 

Because Kat’s hubby (Fanless’ friend and coworker, Mike) does a lot of printing for this venue (and Segafredo’s, which is owned by the same guy), we got totally hooked up for the evening. He had set us up on the second floor, which is typically off-limits to patrons, so we had the entire area to ourselves and exclusive table service. Plus ALL our food and drinks were comped! VIP, baby! (Just kidding. I had no idea we were going to be hooked up like that, but it sure was nice.) The place was really cool, but super-crowded. So it was nice that we had that whole area to ourselves. There was a live band, too, which was fun. Oh, and small world – I ran into another old friend from my previous job! He was there celebrating a birthday for one of his friends as well.

IMG_5889 

IMG_5890-copy

IMG_5891

IMG_5893 

(Just playing around for a photo op, The Jagermeister machine wasn’t actually functional.)

IMG_5897

LOL! He was a little bit drunk (after like 8 beers and a vodka shot). Doofus.

IMG_5902 

Anyway, we finally left the place sometime after 1:00AM. It was such a fun night, but very, very exhausting. I was so tired the next day. Probably ‘cause I’m old now.

 

Peace out, yo!

 

One Response to “Friday Night, Last Orders at the Pub*”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    sounds like a really fun night — and your BFF is so cute 🙂 he looks like a nice guy!!! we missed you on Sat (Nat’l Scrap Day). see ya soon! xoxo


Leave a Reply

