Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Scrappiness May 13, 2010

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 11:28 pm

A couple of days ago I felt like making something scrappy, other than a layout, so I decided to tackle a mini-album. I’ve said before that I don’t usually make mini-albums because I find them intimidating and usually run out of steam about halfway through. But as I was browsing through the many, many scrap blogs in my Google Reader, I was inspired by several beautiful minis that I came across, and was determined to make one from start to finish. In order to stick to the plan, I had to keep it simple, so I used few supplies:

I didn’t use any premade embellishments. Instead I made all my embellishments by either punching or cutting out images from the patterned paper, then covering them with glossy accents or some glitter glue. Some I just covered in Mod Podge to give them a little “protective coating.”  (Webster’s Pages paper is a thick cardstock so it’s not as delicate as thinner papers; it’s perfect for this type of technique). 

 

This is the front cover:

1 - cover

The blue ruffle was made by punching a strip of paper with the Martha Stewart border punch, then crumbling it up to “soften” it. I glued it down with Tacky Glue across the top of the strip, but left the bottom loose to give it some texture. The butterflies were punched and cut out. The large yellow one and the little brown one were covered with Glossy Accents. The blue one was simply inked and bling was glued on for the body.

 

It’s hard to tell from the pictures but I used pop dots on some of the embellishments to give the pages some dimension. The wings of the larger butterfly (on the left of the chandelier) are lifted off the page, as are the roses and leaves in front of the birdcage on the right.

2 - page

The dress form was cut out from one of the patterned papers, covered in a layer of Mod Podge, and pop dotted onto the page. The stamp I used is the pink frame on the page on the right.

3 - page

For the page on the right the butterflies were treated in the same manner as the blue one on the cover. You can see the stamp again just off the left side of the page. For the page on the right, the hot air balloon was cut out of patterned paper, and the butterflies were punched. The two darker butterflies are glittered.

4 - page

The yellow hot air balloon on the left and the large one on the right were cut out of the patterned paper and accented with glitter (you can’t see it in the picture, but it’s there). The two ruffles on the bottom of the page on the right were made using the same technique as on the cover, then layered.

5 - page

This is the back cover. I kept this simple, with just a punched butterfly that was glittered. I didn’t want to put too much embellishment or dimension on here, as I didn’t want anything to get damaged or fall off.

6 - cover

The binder ring (as seen in the first photo) was decorated with a few pieces of ribbon and trim from my stash.

 

And that’s that. I really like how it came out. It was simple to make and only took a couple of hours on Tuesday and Wednesday, and most of that was waiting for the different glues to dry. I think I might try a couple more of these, just for fun.

 

Peace out, yo!

 

P.S. I think I’m going to count this as two for the 100 Layout Challenge. Just because I can. =) So that makes the tally 45.

 

P.P.S. Oh, I almost forgot! I have to confess… I fell of the (scrap)wagon. I just couldn’t help it when I saw the Lemonade Stand kit (below) from Noel Mignon. It is GORGEOUS!! And can I just tell you, I ordered it on Tuesday (I think; maybe Monday night), and I ALREADY RECEIVED IT! It was delivered today. Awesome!! I do feel somewhat guilty, but whatever. I’ll get over it. =)

 

2 Responses to “Scrappiness”

  1. adyabreu Says:

    WHAT!!! I Love how that mini turned out… It’s gorgeous… No guilt on that kit. It’s gorgeous and jam packed… I see an addition 10-12 layouts for your goal. It’s all good…

  2. balou Says:

    I’m pretty happy with that little album. =) But now I’m like “okay, so now what do I do with it??” LOL!


Leave a Reply

