Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

i got a brand new pair of rollerskates, You got a brand new key April 20, 2010

Filed under: Life,Miscellany,Personal,Photography — Lulu @ 7:08 pm

On Saturday, Fanless and I headed up to West Palm to celebrate our friend, Kim’s (his BFF’s wife), birthday. She wanted an old school 80s roller skating party and the Atlantis Skateway was the perfect place. I swear they haven’t changed a thing – including the skates – in this place since about the mid-70s.

IMG_5656  IMG_5657

Kim’s hubby, Brandon; her friends, Shaun and Adriana; and her brother, Carl, lacing up their skates. (Oh,and let me just warn you right now that the lighting in there sucked and I couldn’t get my camera settings right, so my pictures were really dark and had to be super-edited in photoshop. In other words, they suck.)

IMG_5658

The birthday girl and her hubby.

IMG_5659 

The DJ at the rink was playing 80s music all night – mostly freestyle – so it was like stepping back in time for all of us. The ongoing joke of the night was “so what time is your mom picking you up?” since the last time any of us went skating we really DID get dropped off by our moms!

IMG_5665 

Kim’s cousin, Joy. As she was rolling towards us she was yelling “Oh my God! This is so scary!”

IMG_5677 

What can I say? My honey is a chick magnet. 😉

IMG_5683 

This one makes me LOL. Kim was pulling Fanless along with her.

IMG_5697 

Joy and her hubby, Dave.

IMG_5701 

It looks like Fanless is concentrating really hard, while Carl pulls his little sister around.

IMG_5703 

And, of course, no trip to West Palm is complete without a stop at Sonic. Okay now, really, how many people does it take to order??

IMG_5709 

IMG_5710 

Yummm! (Brandon ate TWO double burgers! Crazy!)

IMG_5713

We had a lot of fun that night and being at the rink brought back a LOT of memories from junior high days. I’m really going to miss Kim and Brandon when they move to Washington this summer. =(

 

That’s all for now. Peace out, yo!

 

One Response to “i got a brand new pair of rollerskates, You got a brand new key”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    Looks like you had a great time!!!

    Thanks so much for your beautiful message on my blog. So glad you are my friend. You are the sweetest and I love you! xoxo


Leave a Reply

