Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

hello, Friday! April 2, 2010

Filed under: Flashback Friday,Life,Miscellany,Personal,Random Thoughts — Lulu @ 4:58 pm

It’s Friday. I have absolutely nothing new to share (it’s been very same shit, different day around here lately). So, inspired by a couple of recent posts from my girl crush, Stephanie Howell, I am sharing A) a list of 20 confessions, and B) an extremely embarrassing adolescent photograph.

 

1. I love watching documentaries on History and Discovery Channels. My favorites are historical, religious, or anything having to do with serial killers.

2. I am addicted to “Law & Order:SVU” and have watched the reruns of every episode so many times, I usually know exactly which episode it is before they even get to the opening credits.

3. I love Pad Thai. I could eat it every single day of my life.

4. The first LP (that’s a 12” vinyl record for those of you born after the 80s) I ever bought for myself was “Dare” by the Human League.

5. I am extremely sensitive and cry very easily. Especially when I’m angry or hurt.

6. I love to read, but I go through phases. Sometimes I can go through a few books in just a matter of days; other times, I get lazy and it take me forever to finish one.

7. I save all my patterned paper scraps, but I never remember to use them.

8. I love notebooks and writing utensils. If I had to guess, I would say that I currently have at least 500 pens/pencils in my possession. (It might be more.)

9. Sometimes I snort when I laugh too hard.

10. I daydream/fantasize/obsess about moving to Washington state someday.

11. I have never, not once, in my life thought of myself as pretty or attractive. I will only say of myself that I am “cute, with makeup.”

12. I know that I would have made a great mom, but I’m glad I didn’t have kids with any of my exes.

13. I am totally, butt-crazy, in love with my boyfriend. He is absolutely my favorite person on the planet.

14. I hate sorting and doing laundry, but I like folding it when it’s done.

15. I’m pretty sure that if I ever met Drew Barrymore, we would be best friends.

16. When my ex-fiancé dumped me, my first thought was “thank God I won’t have to put up with that pain-in-the-ass kid anymore” (his son from his first marriage). Seriously, that kid made Damien seem sweet.

17. I can not stand having long nails.

18. I have several scars from abdominal surgery, but I kind of like having them. (Weird, I know.)

19. I hate roses. Especially red ones.

20. Because of blogging, I was able to meet my awesome boyfriend and one of the best friends I’ve ever had.

 

Okay, on to the photograph…

 

I believe this was in 1980 or ‘81 (I was around 12 in this picture, and those are my paternal grandparents, both deceased). Not only was I sporting the big-ass Kid Cudi glasses, but check out the oh-so-stylish General Hospital t-shirt AND high-waisted jeans.

pic057

 

I was actually pretty obsessed with GH at that time. It was when Rick Springfield was on “General Hospital” as Dr. Noah Drake, and this song was on the radio all the time (“Paging Dr. Noah Drake to ICU to treat a case of heartbreak”). Oh boy.

 

 

Ahh… good times, good times.

 

That’s it, y’all. Peace out!

 

6 Responses to “hello, Friday!”

  1. Maritza Says:

    Hey. Funny post. love the 20 confessions. i think i will give it a try.

  2. Vanessa Says:

    Great post. Thanks for confessing!!!! BUT although not very stylish (who was at that age?) you were definitely a very pretty girl and you remain beautiful today!!! xoxo

    P.S. Steph H. has been my girl crush for over 2 years now! I feel like she’s my friend even though I don’t “know” her. Does that make me a stalker? LOL!

  3. ady abreu Says:

    Your confessions are great… I’m getting hooked on SH too because of Vanessa… I think we are definitely on the verge of being stalkers… LOL… I love her layouts… That photo is great… I can’t wait to hang out in the next couple of weeks.

  4. Dude! We have so much in common: pad thai love, belly scars, love the documentaries too (LOVE), hate long nails, SVU=Elliot=HOT, I wanna move to Wash too. Sigh…

    I miss you!

    Oh, and I make a mean pad thai… Promise to make you some if I ever go back home.

  5. Pepe Says:

    oh my got meng! That sheet is old.

  6. Vanessa Says:

    Where are you Lou??? 🙂


Leave a Reply

