Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Random March 22, 2010

Filed under: Miscellany,Random Thoughts — Lulu @ 10:11 pm

I don’t have a lot to share lately. Just a lot of “same shit, different day” around here (well, with the exception of this cold/cough that I’ve been trying to shake for over a week). But there were two moments this weekend that I wanted to make note of.

 

#1: Fanless and I were watching one of the many, MANY college basketball games, when the camera panned around and showed a few of the cheerleaders being all peppy at courtside. All of a sudden Fanless says “whoa, was that a Lulu cheerleader?” (He calls me Lulu; I think it’s completely adorable.) So I looked up and was all “what? where?”  He rewound a few seconds and pointed out a cute, blonde cheerleader and said “she looks just like you!” I just looked at him as if he’d suddenly sprouted two heads and said "that’s what I look like to you?” And he said yes (it was kind of in that “well, duh” tone of voice). I was completely dumbstruck. You see, I’d had a really difficult self-esteem day recently, so having my boyfriend offhandedly comment on my appearance (or rather, what he sees when he looks at me), and have it be something really good (for real, she was totally adorable), it really made me happy. Especially since it was so unexpected.

 

#2: While we were watching a movie in the living room, I got up to go to the restroom, which is at the end of the hall. The view into the living room as you’re walking back is obstructed by a wall so as I was coming around the corner, I was semi-distracted telling Fanless about something. When I got to the end of the hall he jumped out from behind the wall and startled me and I actually jumped back clutching my chest. Now I know it doesn’t sound that funny, and is really one of those “you had to be there” moments, but I swear we must have laughed for about 5 minutes afterwards. Even now when I think about it I giggle. Ahh… I love when we have completely random, silly moments like that.

 

Alright, that’s all I’ve got. Peace out, yo!

 

3 Responses to “Random”

  1. Awwwwwww!! I love Fanless. And you are as beautiful as he thinks 🙂

  2. balou Says:

    Yeah, he’s pretty awesome. =)
    Thank you, my friend. We miss you.

  3. ady abreu Says:

    I don’t think so… My ex hubby used to scare me all the time and that’s one of the reasons why he is my ex hubby. LOL… I totally hate to be startled but tell me that I look like a cheerleader any day. LOVE IT…


Leave a Reply

