Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Scrappiness: Seattle Mini Album January 2, 2010

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 2:07 am

I don’t usually make mini albums because I find them intimidating. But I really wanted to make one about our visit to Seattle. Luckily, the same week we got back from our trip, I saw this blog post by Jenny Chesnick, where she shared a recent mini she made. I took inspiration from her design to make my own album.

 

All the patterned paper is from K&Company’s Urban Rhapsody line. The base is craft cardstock, and alphas and embellies are a mix of American Crafts, K&Company, Jenny Bowlin, and other bits and pieces from my stash. I also incorporated maps and pamphlets and other ephemera we picked up during our trip.

IMG_4852ed

I made a little pocket to hold our airline boarding passes.

IMG_4854ed 

IMG_4855ed

IMG_4856ed

IMG_4857ed

I forgot to take a picture of our hotel, but I had this postcard I picked up in the lobby, so I mounted it on patterned paper, backed it with white cardstock, and journaled on the back.

IMG_4858ed

IMG_4860ed

On the page about Top Pot, I used a postcard (yes, again) as the main picture, and did my journaling on the back of the business card for the café, which I then tucked behind the two bottom photos.

IMG_4861ed

IMG_4865ed

IMG_4866ed

For the page on the left, I made a pocket behind the photo, and tucked in the little pamphlet about the restaurant and our receipt. The picture of the Space Needle also has a “slot” behind it. I made a pull-out card, attached our monorail passes to it, and tucked it behind the photo.

IMG_4868ed

For the page on the right, I made a little pocket to hold our receipt. I also journaled on the back of the business card, which is held on to the pocket with a mini paper clip.

IMG_4869ed

IMG_4870ed

These two pages have hidden journaling…

IMG_4871ed

as seen here.

IMG_4872ed

IMG_4873ed

IMG_4874ed

For this last page, if you remove the clip…

IMG_4875ed

it opens to reveal a map of Seattle.

IMG_4876ed

Not to toot my own horn, but I’m pretty proud of this baby! By using only one paper line and minimal embellishments, I was able to keep the pages fairly simple, but still include a lot of fun and unexpected little details.

 

Alright, that’s all I have for now. Peace out, yo!

 

4 Responses to “Scrappiness: Seattle Mini Album”

  1. Laura Says:

    Wow Lou!!! It’s amazing and you must toot away!

  2. Tere Says:

    Awesome and impressive!

  3. Vanessa Says:

    Toot, toot, toot! I love it 🙂 It’s got lots of cool pics, hidden surprises and it’s fun… you should make more minis! xoxo

  4. ady abreu Says:

    I really like how the mini turned out… You should not be intimidated because it’s beautiful…


Leave a Reply

