Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Washington 2009 – Family Christmas December 26, 2009

Filed under: Life,Personal,Photography,Travel — Lulu @ 1:41 am

(Warning – Photo-heavy post)

 

First, let me give you the background behind the Family Christmas tradition. Fanless’ family used to celebrate Christmas on Christmas Eve. However, as the eight siblings (his mom, aunts and uncles) got older, started their own families and moved away, it became more difficult to get everyone together at Christmas, usually due to flight delays and such. Thus the Family Christmas tradition of getting the whole family together the second weekend in December was born. Personally, I love it and I’m glad I get to be part of it.

 

Of course, there was a lovely tree, with tons of presents jammed beneath.

IMG_4574ed

And a little bit of pouting.

IMG_4577ed

There was some web surfing.

IMG_4583ed

And singing of Christmas carols.

IMG_4589ed 

Cute, teen cousins hanging out.

IMG_4599ed

And sweet grandparents, enjoying time with the family they created.

IMG_4604ed

And little ones sharing a rare moment of calm…

IMG_4611ed

Before the opening of gifts commenced.

IMG_4615ed 

IMG_4623ed

There were lots of toys.

IMG_4626ed

And a flurry of gift wrap and bows.

IMG_4627ed 

And special moments for young and old alike.

IMG_4632ed

Not to mention food… and bugs (relax; it’s not real. LONG story!)

IMG_4634ed

And plenty of fun and games.

IMG_4635ed  

 

Hope everyone had a lovely Christmas. Peace out, yo!

 

2 Responses to “Washington 2009 – Family Christmas”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    Looks like a wonderful WA Christmas!!! Glad you have this tradition that you are now a part of 🙂 See you soon!!! HUGS!

  2. ady abreu Says:

    It’s so great the way you’ve captured all the happenings of his family. Great traditions too… I have loved all the photos you’ve posted. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and I want to wish you and Fanless a wonderful New Year. Hugz… I really hope to see more of you in the New Year.


Leave a Reply

