Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Washington 2009: Day 2 = Pike Place Market December 18, 2009

Filed under: Life,Personal,Photography,Travel — Lulu @ 10:00 pm

Another photo-heavy post. Consider yourselves warned!

 

On our second day, we had a few free hours in Seattle before Fanless’ aunt and uncle were due to pick us up for the 3-hour drive to Othello. We decided to head to the Pike Place (aka Public) Market for breakfast, so we walked over to the monorail at the Seattle Center, which was about four blocks from our hotel.

 

This was taken about two blocks from our hotel (the Space Needle is located at the Seattle Center).

IMG_4480ed

The monorail dropped us off at the Westlake Center, so we just had to walk a few blocks to the market.

IMG_4482ed

There is just so  much good stuff here. The fresh fruits and veggies were so beautifully displayed.

IMG_4484ed

We had breakfast at the Athenian Inn, which has been at the market since 1909. Fanless told me his parents used to go there when they were in college, and he had been there with them a couple of times, but not since about 2004. So it was really nice to share this experience with him. (This was the view from our booth.)

IMG_4487ed

Just being silly.

IMG_4490ed
IMG_4491ed

I love this picture. ❤

IMG_4495ed

I think this was the ferry for Bainbridge Island, but don’t quote me on that.

IMG_4498ed

Mmm… breakfast! This was Fanless’ (salmon, eggs and hash browns).

IMG_4500ed

And this was mine! (Corned beef hash, eggs and toast. Sooo good!)

IMG_4501ed

After breakfast, we walked around the market for a bit. Of course, there was plenty of fresh seafood.

IMG_4502ed IMG_4503ed

What’s that thing, you ask?

IMG_4507ed

Why, it’s a Monk Fish! (Ugly little bugger, isn’t it?)

IMG_4506ed

It’s mini-Fanless! (Just kidding, babe.)

IMG_4508ed

Pike Place Fish Market. This is the place that is famous for throwing the fish.

IMG_4509ed

A shot from the walkway. You can see the sign for Post Alley way down at the end.

IMG_4511ed

Newsstand. (See the face? It’s only day two and he’s already over the pictures. Hee!)

IMG_4512ed

Christmas trees!!

IMG_4517ed

Mmm… cheeeese… I do love cheese.

IMG_4519ed

A shot of the street.

IMG_4524ed

Believe it or not, I did not have any coffee in Seattle. That’s on my to-do list for next time. (I love this sign.)

IMG_4525ed

And then Aunt Laurie called to say they were about a block away.

(Stay tuned for more.)

 

Peace out, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

