Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Washington 2009: Day 1= Seattle December 18, 2009

Filed under: Life,Personal,Photography,Travel — Lulu @ 12:21 am

WARNING – Super-dee-duper photo heavy!!

Aboard our Alaska Airlines flight from Miami to Seattle.

IMG_4410ed

Flying over Miami Beach.

IMG_4411ed

Finally over Washington! (The Cascade Mountains)

IMG_4420ed

Arriving in Seattle.

IMG_4423ed

Taking the bus from the airport to Downtown Seattle.

IMG_4429ed

Union Station. (This is where we got off the bus and started walking for a while.)

IMG_4430ed

I don’t think I’ve ever seen a fire escape in my life.

IMG_4432ed

At this point we decided to call a cab because it was still quite a ways to the hotel.

IMG_4435ed

I genuinely love the architecture here. The first brick building in Seattle was built in 1872, and pretty much all the buildings here have that beautiful, pre-War historic brick architecture. I could have spent an entire day just photographing building facades.

IMG_4438ed

Antique-y street clock.

IMG_4440ed

After checking into our hotel (the Mediterranean Inn on Queen Anne Ave N; it was great, but I forgot to take pics), we went for a sightseeing walk.

Nirvana posters in the window of Easy Street Records. Loved this shop. It was so very “Empire Records.”

IMG_4444ed

(This is for Mike and Kat.) We made it to Top Pot Doughnuts! DEEE-lish!

IMG_4450ed

Glazed Applesauce. So good!

IMG_4452ed

Inside Top Pot. Super cute place, with wall-to-wall books. Very nice atmosphere.

IMG_4454ed

Christmas tree at the Westlake Center.

IMG_4458ed

Carousel and Christmas lights.

IMG_4459ed

By the time we got to the Public Market, it was closed, so we just took some pictures. (We went back for breakfast the following day, so those pics will come later.)

IMG_4463ed

IMG_4464ed

So, apparently, this pig statue is kind of a big deal.

IMG_4473ed

Found this cool alleyway with absolutely every inch covered in posters

IMG_4474ed

Rounded up our evening with dinner at Ivar’s, before heading back to the hotel. (My hottie dinner date!)

IMG_4477ed

So, a couple of things I really enjoyed about Seattle…

1) Awesome food! Seriously. Every meal we had here was fantastic. As a matter of fact, I could use one those doughnuts right about now.

2) The people are soooo nice. Every shop we went into, the employees were super polite and friendly. That never happens in Miami.

Okay, that’s it for tonight, but stay tuned for many more pics to come. Peace out, yo!

 

5 Responses to “Washington 2009: Day 1= Seattle”

  1. Gah, you’ve made me wish I was in Seattle all over again.

  2. balou Says:

    Oh. man, I loooved Seattle! The entire time we were walking around, I kept seeing for rent signs on the buildings and telling the BF “look, we can live there!”

  3. ady abreu Says:

    Ahh.. Those pics are great. You are gonna be one busy scrapbooker…


Leave a Reply

