Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Product Share November 29, 2009

Filed under: Miscellany,Shopping — Lulu @ 2:27 am

I certainly do not claim to be any kind of beauty guru, but I have always loved fashion and beauty magazines, makeover shows, trying out new and different products. Because I always rave about great new finds to friends, I thought this would be as good a place as any to share my finds. So here are my four current beauty “must haves.”

 

Two amazing hair products that I’m completely in love with are the John Frieda Frizz-Ease Daily Nourishment spray and Organix Nourishing Coconut Milk Weightless Mousse. Both are leave-in conditioners, and they are fantastic. My hair is color-treated and naturally curly – but I typically blow it out straight – which means that it tends to be on the dry side. These products are meant to be applied to towel-dried hair prior to heat styling or air drying. Both of these products leave my hair much softer to the touch, with a nice, natural (non-greasy) sheen to it. Bonus: They both also smell really good. I used the coconut milk mousse earlier today and I keep sniffing my hair, it’s that good.

 

 

Working from home means that I don’t have to deal with getting dressed up and applying makeup every day. But I do like to look at least a little bit groomed when I have to step out and run an errand. Usually a swipe of mascara and a dab of lipgloss do the trick. My current favorite mascara is Cover Girl Exact Eyelights Color Enhancing Mascara. The brush is a perfect shape for getting coverage on all of your lashes – even the very short ones in the inner corners – and keeping them separated. The formulation allows this mascara to go on smoothly and evenly. It is great at thickening and darkening lashes without clumps or “spidering.” I don’t know about the other shades, but I use the Black Ruby shade, and it has a touch of burgundy shimmer which really contrasts nicely with my green eyes.

 

My lips tend to chap a lot because I always chew on them absent-mindedly. Because of this, I keep tubes of Chapstick in every purse, in my car, on my desk… But my absolute favorite lip balm is Rosebud Strawberry Lip Salve. This product really helps relieve the dryness and chapping, but it’s not heavy or waxy. You really only need a tiny dab to do the trick, so a tin lasts forever (I’ve had mine for about two years, and only now is it getting close to needing replacement). It also smells really nice, which is always a plus in my book.

 

If you are using any of these products, I’d love to hear your thoughts on them.

 

Peace out, yo.

 

One Response to “Product Share”

  1. ady abreu Says:

    I use the frize ease too. I love it…


Leave a Reply

