Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Thankful November 26, 2009

Filed under: Life,Miscellany,Personal — Lulu @ 8:20 pm

Even though life is usually perfectly imperfect, and things don’t always go as smoothly as I would like, there are many things for which I am thankful right now.

 

  • I am thankful for my wonderful boyfriend. He is sweet and kind-hearted and makes me laugh every day. I feel very fortunate that I’m the girl he fell for. =)
  • I am thankful that my mom is here with us for the holidays, and that her knee surgery went well and she is on her way to making a full recovery.
  • I am thankful that at almost 80 years old (next month!) my dad is still healthy and strong and physically able to tend to their little farm in Panama. He is happy there doing something he enjoys.
  • I am thankful that my sister and my niece are both happy in relationships with good, decent men that love and care for them.
  • I am thankful that my friends are thriving in their own ways, with their own lives, and managing to get through the hardships and disappointments that life sometimes throws our way.
  • I am thankful for my hobbies of scrapbooking and photography and reading, which keep my mind active and my creativity flowing.
  • I am thankful for my job that – even with the occasional headaches and hassles – keeps me content and proactive, and provides a salary that allows me to take care of myself by keeping a roof over my head, food on the table, a car to get around in, and the occasional new handbag. =)
  • I am thankful to have a whole other kind, warm-hearted and welcoming family on the other side of the country, and for the opportunity to visit them and partake in their family holiday traditions. Even if I don’t know all the lyrics to the Christmas carols. =)
  • I am thankful for the Wright Brothers, without whom air travel may not have been possible. Yes, I get extremely agitated and short of breath and freaked out every time I sit in an airplane. But when you get the privilege of seeing the beauty of Washington state – with its sprawling farmlands, majestic mountain ranges, and verdant evergreens – as you fly overhead, it is SO totally worth the panic attacks.
  • I am thankful for the men and women of the armed services, so far away from their homes and their families, putting their lives at risk, to keep this country safe for me and my family. Regardless of your opinions of the war and the administration that got us into this predicament, the troops deserve to be honored and respected always.

 

I’m sure if I sat here I could think of many more things, but I think that’s a pretty good list.

 

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!!

 

One Response to “Thankful”

  1. ady abreu Says:

    Great list of things to be grateful for. Hugz…


Leave a Reply

