Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

FYI, Lawn seats Suck! September 28, 2009

Filed under: Music,Photography — Lulu @ 6:51 pm

This past Saturday, Fanless and I attended the Blink 182/Fall Out Boy/All American Rejects concert at the Cruzan Amphitheater in West Palm Beach. Typically, when we attend an event, I try to write a blog post about it that includes photos and videos. This time? Yeah, not so much. Suffice it to say that the show was sold out and we had lawn seats whereby we were surrounded by what looked to be 10,000 inebriated teenagers.

We were so far away from the stage, in fact, that this was the best shot I could get of Fall Out Boy… with a 10x zoom on my camera:

fobedit

 

And Blink 182:

IMG_3987edit

 

Unfortunately, I didn’t get any video, and I won’t even bother with All American Reject photos. They all came out awful.

This was the best shot of the night (I played around with the effects on Picasa). Is there anything better than a cute boy with a beer and a pretzel??:

IMG_3954edit

(I was sitting on the floor for this shot, btw.)

 

So my quickie review of the show: First, let me point out that I am not a big fan of any of the three bands, knowing only their radio-friendly songs. All American Rejects front man, Tyson Ritter, performed with a brace on his leg (supposedly, he’d had a tumor removed from his leg earlier in the day, but I can neither confirm nor deny if this is true). That’s pretty rock and roll right there! Fall Out Boy is much more hardcore than I had anticipated (having never seen them live before). And there was definite excitement in the air for the reunion of Blink 182, as this tour marks the first time they have played together in five years. Overall, it was a good show, although a little too crowded for my taste.

My favorite parts of the evening, by far, were 1) visiting Kim and Brandon prior to the show, and getting to hold 17-day-old Liana the entire time:

melianaedit

(Seriously, she is so yummy. She slept the entire time we were there.)

 

2) Hanging out with Mia, who insisted on showing us her Halloween costume:

miawitchedit

 

And 3), Sonic after the show!:

IMG_3990edit

 

So, that’s pretty much it. Peace out, yo!

 

One Response to “FYI, Lawn seats Suck!”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    That baby is so adorable!!!! oooh, and I love Sonic… yum!


Leave a Reply

