Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

It’s A Jungle Out There September 7, 2009

Filed under: Photography — Lulu @ 3:47 pm

Fanless and I decided to take advantage of Jungle Island’s Resident Promotion ($10 admission for residents of Miami-Dade and Broward counties from September 4th through the 7th) yesterday since neither of us had been there. The last time I visited was on an elementary school field trip when it was still Parrot Jungle and located in Pinecrest (so basically, a reeeeally long time ago).

 

Just a couple of the parrots that you can pose with right at the entrance to the park.

 IMG_3630

 

Pretty nice for a man-made waterfall.

IMG_3637

 

This little Squirrel Monkey is part of the Manu exhibit. So cute! (There’s a short video at the end of the post.)

IMG_3643

 

This guy was also in the Manu exhibit.

IMG_3648

 

Yellow-Naped Amazons and a Blue Mutation of same.

IMG_3653

 

Hee…

IMG_3659

 

“Orale.” (Mexican Red-Headed Amazon)

IMG_3660

This was a really nice change from all the thunderstorms we’ve been having lately.

IMG_3670

 

Gratuitous scenery shot.

IMG_3678

 

Fanless petting a goat. Then the goat tried to eat his pocket.
IMG_3702

 

Flamingos.
IMG_3721

 

At the end of our visit we had the option to upgrade to an annual pass for $15 per person, so we decided to do it (it ended up being a pretty good deal because a regular one day pass is $30 per person and annual pass is $40 per person). We figured that since the park is just a few minutes from the beach, we can go there any time, and it’ll be a nice outing during the cooler months.

 

One Response to “It’s A Jungle Out There”

  1. Ady Abreu Says:

    ooh which I would have known about that promotion. If been meaning to take D but I keep putting it off. Great photos too…


Leave a Reply

