Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

A Morning on the Beach August 31, 2009

Filed under: Photography — Lulu @ 11:11 am

Today is my niece’s husband’s birthday. He’s not big into parties, so to celebrate we got together and had a little family outing to the beach (like Fanless, they also live just two blocks west of the ocean, but in the northern part of Miami Beach).

 

The weather didn’t much feel like participating as the afternoon was met with a really bad thunderstorm; but just prior, I managed to get a few good shots.

 

My niece and my sister. The water was great on Saturday, and the tide was really low. They were actually pretty far out in the water when I took this.

3868610503_a4d460af3a_o

 

You can see the dark clouds heading our way.

3868613293_cb91113d43_o

 

Fanless chats with my sister’s fiancé under our “Tent City.””

3869392874_67431f7aa2_o

 

Beachgoers.

3869393216_f9233354bd_o 

 

I love this shot.

3869393578_2a0dee91c7_o

 

I love how colorful the Miami Beach lifeguard stands are (read more about them here). One of these days I’m going to have to get pictures of all of them and make a mini-album.

3869394596_3cfc728730_o

 

Leave a Reply

