Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Look Out, Lance! August 20, 2009

Filed under: Life,Miscellany,Shopping — Lulu @ 12:13 am

I am super excited about getting this baby this coming weekend!

0002891456377_AV1_500X500

One of the benefits of dating Fanless is that he lives on Miami Beach (literally just two blocks west of the ocean). The  downside is that the beach is not really "car friendly." Parking is always a mission, and during the tourist-heavy times the traffic on the three main streets is out of hand. The majority of beach residents use either bikes or scooters (like Vespas) as their main mode of transportation.

 

We’ve talked about me getting my own bike forever and it’s finally going to happen! Even though Fanless has six bikes, I can’t ride any of them. One is a huge – and extremely intimidating – mountain bike, and the other five are all BMX bikes. Have you ever tried riding one of those?? You have to ride them standing up because the seats are not designed to accommodate "lady parts."

 

Anyway, I’m thrilled that I finally found a bike that meets all my ultra-important requirements:

1) It’s super cute

2) It’s super cheap (WalMart, yo!)

3) Hmm… no, I guess cute and cheap about covers it.

 

I have to admit though, that I have not been on a bicycle since I was about 18 (go ahead, do the math. I’ll wait.)  Yeah, that’s like 22 years! So I’m really hoping that old cliche about "it’s just like riding a bike" is actually based on some kind of fact.

 

BUT, I have a really strong suspicion that it’s probably going to be a lot like this episode of “Frasier.” 

 

P.S. Only 22 days left until I leave for my Scrap Retreat weekend in Sanibel! I really can’t wait. I need a break from the daily grind so badly. Not to mention that I haven’t seen my Scrappy Girls in forever! Seriously, I miss them.

 

4 Responses to “Look Out, Lance!”

  1. Amanda Says:

    It’s adorable! I want one. How many colors does it come in?

  2. Balou Says:

    I think that one only comes in blue. But if you go to Walmart.com and click on “toys” > “bikes and scooters”, you can see them all there. I would love for it to be bright orange or acid green, but baby blue is cool.

  3. Ady Abreu Says:

    I thinks it’s adorable. I’m dying to get a bike too but I’m in the process of trying to teach D so that’s a mission on it’s own. I too have not been a bike in at least 15 years so my hubby says “it’s like the blind leading the blind”. I like those requirements too for buying a bike. We’ll see how it goes. I can’t wait to hang too.

  4. Vanessa Says:

    What a cute bike! Love it! 🙂 Oh, and those layouts are adorable. I can’t wait for the retreat to be here already! That weekend will go by way too fast, I’m sure!


Leave a Reply

