Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Scrappiness August 18, 2009

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 4:36 pm

I’m excited to share my first foray into 8.5” x 11” layouts! These were all made over the last few weeks.


I had never made layouts this size before, but I’ve seen a ton of them in other scrappers’ layout galleries. I finally decided to give them a try, and I have to say I really enjoy making them! They are much less overwhelming than my usual 12” x 12” layouts, as there is not as much space to fill. I prefer a simple, minimal embellishment look to my pages, but with 12-by-12 pages, that kind of style can sometimes look “bland.” I also find that working with a smaller space makes them come together pretty quickly, and I am all about that.


Bonus:
I’m finally scrapping all those random photos I’ve been hanging on to forever.


(I am so grateful that Fanless taught me how to make multi-photo canvases in Photoshop. I love how they look.) Products: Making Memories Sabrina, except the pink Thickers (By The Yard).

amor


Products: Cloud 9 Design, except the little white flower.

farmgirl


Products: Making Memories Noteworthy Tara, except the green Thickers (Remarks) and the “Friends” epoxy sticker (Imaginisce, I think.)

friends 1st


Products: Work In Progress kit (the papers and chipboard are SEI), except the Thickers (Leg Warmers).

goodbye


Products: Paper Crush by Colorbok.

happy


Products: KI Memories Juicy Summer, except the Thickers (Sprinkles) and the flower brad (from my stash).

silly smiles


Products: K&Company Que Sera Sera (LOVE this collection!) and the photo of Fanless was taken by my photographer friend,
Scott.

so very next level


Products: Making Memories Whimsy, except the white alphas (EK Success) and the green Thickers (Rockabye).

sweet dreams


Products: Making Memories Noteworthy Tara, except the “Y” and “H” (I think those are Making Memories Funky Vintage).

Y&Hforever


Products: American Crafts Moda Bella, except the Fleur-de-lis sticker (Hambly). The Thickers are ‘Chit Chat.’

ahoy cutie 


Oh, I almost forgot: all the cardstock used is from Stampin’ Up and The Paper Company.

I predict I’m going to be making a lot more 8.5” x 11” layouts in the future!

 

3 Responses to “Scrappiness”

  1. ady abreu Says:

    You are on a roll… I’ve been incorporating 8 1/2 amongst my 12 *12 layouts just to give the album a layered look and it is much quicker for me because I don’t have to think about more than one photo… These are great Lou but you better slow down because you won’t have any creative juices when we go away. LOL… I can’t wait I’m giddy…

  2. balou Says:

    Well, not so much “a roll”; these were done over three 1/2 weeks so it’s not really that much. These are all pictures that were sitting on my desk forever and I had no clue what to do with them, so this is a good way to finally get them scrapped. (Mind you that I still have about 300 pictures – so far – that I am saving to take to the retreat). For me it’s actually the other way around; I need to scrap consistently so that I will continue being creative. If I step away from it for too long, I totally lose the mojo.

    I can’t wait either! I’m really looking forward to it.

  3. Tere Says:

    Love these! My little pirate looks adorable in his new layout!


Leave a Reply

