Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Scrappiness August 10, 2009

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 9:58 pm

I used some of the pictures I took at the beach on Saturday to make a two-page layout using BasicGrey’s Ambrosia collection. I don’t typically do multi-photo, two-page layouts so this was a bit of challenge for me. Normally I don’t spend more than 20 minutes per layout. This one took me a little over an hour!

beachLO1

I like that the patterned paper picks up the colors in the lifeguard stand of the photo on the bottom right, but that it provides a lot of contrast for the blues and beiges of all the photos.

beachLO2

I’m not really happy with the placement of that chipboard element at the top of the page. I accidentally touched it to the page after removing the backing, and then I couldn’t get it off without ripping the paper. Those suckers are sticky! I do love that chipboard piece right above the word “beach”; I think it gives that swirly feeling of the waves.
beachLO3

I love the Ambrosia line and I haven’t really used it much since I got it, so I’m glad I got to put it to use. Although this isn’t my usual style, I kind of like it.

 

3 Responses to “Scrappiness”

  1. Ady Abreu Says:

    I love this double layout. You might not do them often but they are awesome so definitely do it again.

  2. Vanessa Says:

    Hey girlie! Beautiful! Love all the photos and how it all works together 🙂

  3. Jill Says:

    This is such a great two-pager! You fit so many pics on here, and you did it so seamlessly. The orange papers alongside the blue-based photos create a visual “pop” — love it!


Leave a Reply

