Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Movin’ On Up (Mooo-vin’ on up…) July 22, 2009

Filed under: Blogging,Miscellany,Personal — Lulu @ 10:26 am

Okay, so maybe not exactly up. More like laterally.

My new blog URL:  https://searchingfornormalcy.wordpress.com (Bookmark it! Now please! What are you waiting for? Go!!)

Why did I move from Blogger to WordPress. Well, apparently Blogger has decided to hold my blog hostage and won’t let me access any of the content on my dashboard. I can’t even get on to it in order to post an update and let everyone know what is going on. But Blogger’s help platform isn’t very helpful at all, so after a couple of hours of going around in circles and finding no solution, and no information at all on who to contact, I pretty much just gave up.

I’m kind of bummed that I lost all my earlier posts (I started my blog in August of 2006).  I was able to retrieve and republish some of my more recent posts on here (just July) because I’ve been using Windows Live Writer to publish my posts over the past few months, and I think I might be able to retrieve most 2009/2008/some 2007 posts via Google Reader. But everything from 2006 and most of 2007 is lost in the abyss. Oh well. It is what it is, right?

Anyway, I’ll try to repost some faves from the previous blog (photos, videos, scrap projects) as time allows.  Hopefully you will all find me via Google Search or something. Fingers crossed!

Peace out, yo!

UPDATE: So sometime this afternoon the lightbulb went on in my head and I remembered that I had added my own blog to my Google Reader subscriptions (so that I could view my posts in that format and make any edits needed) a while back. I checked and, sure enough, there were the majority of my blog posts. Eureka! It took a little over four hours, but I managed to scroll through and copy most of my previously published content (all the way back to October 2007) to THIS blog. I guess the good thing about this whole headache is that it gave me a chance to do some spring cleaning on my blog. There were a lot of videos and such that I had posted which are no longer available, in addition to a lot of throwaway posts (little random bits and pieces of nothing). So, anyway, I hope this is the end of this “dolor de culo” (pain in the ass) and that I can now move forward with my regular blogging. Hallelujah!

 

4 Responses to “Movin’ On Up (Mooo-vin’ on up…)”

  1. Carrie_in_TN Says:

    Lou, hola! I got the attack site message earlier this week, but thought it was me, as I am having modem/router problemas. Que te paso? So sorry for the drama and welcome to wordpress. Off to change your url on my pages…un abrazo…Carrie

  2. balou Says:

    i don’t really know. all of a sudden they shut down my blog and removed it from my dashboard. i can’t get in touch with anyone to get an answer, so the only thing i’ve found is that generic “malware detected” message. which is really bizarre because the only external coding/program i had on there is my stat counter. so who knows.

  3. Damaris Says:

    Geez girl….4 hours? Holy cRAp…I would have stopped blogging. LOL!!!!!!!!! I admire your persistance!!!

    Hugs,
    Me

    • balou Says:

      Believe me, I thought about it! But thank goodness it was just a matter of copy > paste > publish > next. Estilo factoria!


Leave a Reply

