Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

oh my… June 23, 2009

Filed under: Scrapbooking,Shopping — Lulu @ 7:43 pm

Dear Making Memories,

Why, why, WHY do you continuously tempt me with your beauteous goodies?? Are you not aware of the fact that I am a “SINK” (single income, no kids) and I’m trying very unsuccessfully to stay away from you because I am on a very tight budget?? I can not continue on this way.

First you came around with the sweet, candy colors and delicately feminine flowers of the Noteworthy Collection. Oh, you certainly caught my eye with that one. It wasn’t too long after that that I found myself surreptitiously fondling 5th Avenue paper packs and epoxy brads in the scrapbooking aisle at Target. When December rolled around, I knew there would be no “happy” in my holiday without Fa La La. But I swore the New Year would be different. I resolved to stay away from you. But then I found Passport, and all my resolutions went out the window. When Just Chillin’ came around I didn’t even bother to deny myself. This past month has been pure torture, trying to stay away from Great Escape. It has taken all of my inner strength and I think I’ve literally broken out in cold sweats over it. But I HAVE stayed away! I’ve been so good. I thought, finally, I’d kicked the habit.

But now, NOW, you come out with THIS??!! An entire line inspired by vintage prints and antique collectibles??

VF

It’s as if you’ve been reading my very private thoughts and granting my deepest wishes! Oh, what a cruel temptress you are, Making Memories. But I can not – nay, WILL not – continue to spend my hard-earned money on your lovely papers and luscious embellishments.

I won’t. I refuse!

(*sigh*… Who am I kidding?)

I shall rendezvous with you at Michael’s soon, my dear, sweet lover. Until then, Je t’aime, MM.

Je t’aime

 

Leave a Reply

