Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

The Theme of the night = sweaty June 18, 2009

Filed under: Life,Miscellany,Random Thoughts — Lulu @ 3:23 pm

We attended the Miami Herald Tweetup at the legendary Tobacco Road last night. This was a chance for old media and new media to converge and merge, mix and mingle, join together in holy… Oops, sorry.

No, really. This was an opportunity for local bloggers and Twitter(ers?) to meet up, chit-chat, trade business cards, schmooze…

Yeah.

I have to be honest; I I was not into going at all. I basically went to appease Tere and Christian, who were way more into it than I was. I was PMSing and feeling antisocial – well, more antisocial than usual – and after 20 minutes of sweating my ass off in 200% humidity on a crowded outdoor patio, I was pretty much over it. I made absolutely zero effort to meet a single person outside of the “usual suspects.”

I’m guessing the event was successful, based on the sheer number of people there. But other than that, I’m unable to really tell you anything more about it. I can, however, give the Miami Herald one tip for future event planning: if you insist on having an outdoor event, in Miami, that will surely attract a large number of attendees, for God’s sake, don’t have it in the middle of June! What are you? New here?? Sheesh!

Oh, but we did have dinner there and that was pretty good. And of course, I do have photos! Please to enjoy.

Me and Tere looking extra glossy (ie, sweaty).
my pocket size peanut! <3 her! by you.

Fanless and me. Notice how nice and dry he is? Lucky!
A little sweaty by you.

“View your photo on MiamiClubNight.com”  Just kidding! I love this pic of T. So cute!
She was here by you.

She’s his lobster. (What? You don’t watch “Friends”?) Hector enjoying his dinner special.
She's his lobster! by you.
Christian’s Death Burger. THIS made him sweat!
Tobacco Road Death Burger by you.

That’s it. Peace out, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

