Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

mom’s visit: a photo essay June 15, 2009

Filed under: Life,Personal,Photography — Lulu @ 3:27 pm

My mom flew back home to Panama yesterday morning. She was here for exactly one month which was mostly spent visiting family and friends, going to all her doctor’s appointments and refilling all her prescriptions, spending time with my aunt (her sister), nagging me and my sister to death… some things never change, I guess. Anyway, just wanted to share a few pics from her visit.

With my cousin, Tom, the day after she arrived.
mom5

At the food court of Westland Mall with my aunt. We were waiting for the optical on the other side of the mall to finish mounting the lenses into my aunt’s new eyeglasses.
mom4

At my niece’s apartment on the beach. She was talking to my dad on the phone and Cookie (my grand-niece) wouldn’t leave her alone.
mom3
At my niece’s dad’s house with my little cousin.
momkatie

My niece’s paternal grandparents, her dad, my mom, and my cousin.
mom2

My mom and aunt at the family barbecue on Saturday.
mom1

My niece and her dad, me, my sister, mom, Shawn (my cousin), Lola and Armando, Kristy (my cousin), Tom (my cousin, and Shawn and Kristy’s dad), and Adam (my niece’s half-brother). The rest of the family was inside the house watching baseball or something.
family

With my niece at the airport, waiting for her flight to board.
IMG_2952

My sister called me yesterday afternoon to let me know that mom’s flight had arrived safely and she was now back home. Yay! I miss her already. Even the nagging.

 

Leave a Reply

