Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Mi Mami (Belated Mother’s Day Post) May 11, 2009

Filed under: Life,Personal,Photography — Lulu @ 3:36 pm

“All that I am, or hope to be, I owe to my angel mother.” – Abraham Lincoln

I know I’m a day late in sharing a Mother’s Day post, but I was away from my computer and scanner this weekend. I just wanted to share some of my favorite pics of the most awesome, sweetest, kindest, most loving mom on the entire planet.

Row 1: (Left) I think this was in 1967 or 1968, Miami. How retro-cool is her outfit?? Right??
(Right) That’s me in her belly, July 1969. Note the bouffant wig. Apparently, they were “the thing” because my mom and all my tias had them.
Row 2: (Left) My 1st birthday party with all the primos and vecinos. My sister is in the brown top on the left (Babe – that’s a bocadito party).
(Right) I’m guessing that was like my 2nd or 3rd birthday, judging from the gifts on the bed. I really don’t know.
Row 3: (Left) In our little duplex in Hialeah, I’m guessing 1974 or ‘75. Love mom’s necklace!
(Right) At the Miami Seaquarium, circa 1975 or ‘76 (I was always a tall kid). Bonus: my real haircolor!

jpg027

And something a bit more recent (mom’s birthday 2007):

memom2

Happy Mother’s Day, Mami! I love you one million!!!

P.S. I’m super happy that she will be visiting from Panama for a whole month!! She’ll be here in just three more days!!

 

Leave a Reply

