Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

daytona supercross 2009 March 12, 2009

Filed under: Photography,Travel — Lulu @ 4:03 pm

This past Saturday, Fanless and I drove up to Daytona for the annual Supercross event at the Daytona International Speedway. This is our second time attending this race as part of Daytona Bike Week. Last year we were faced with a monsoon. This year we both had the Black Plague (aka the worst f—king cold ever), and we blew a fuse in my car 15 minutes into the drive and had to stop at Lipton Toyota to have it replaced (btw, they rock!!) I’m thinking next year we might want to prepare for bioterrorism or an alien invasion.

Anyway, here are some pics from the trip. The nighttime ones are pretty terrible because I had to set my ISO really high, so consider that a “heads up.” (Just an FYI: There are two classes of bikes in Supercross. When I refer to the “Lites” races it means they are riding 250cc bikes. The “Main Event” bikes are 450cc.)

Fanless checks his Twitter page (post-fuse replacement) on the ride up.IMG_1750edit
Him: “Drive your car!” 
Me: “I’m bored!”
Him: “Drive your car!” 
IMG_1752edit

Not really sure where this was but it was such a pretty day out, I wanted to capture it.IMG_1753edit
We made it! And not a cloud in the sky!
IMG_1755edit
Trying to look not sick! The riders behind us were waiting for their turn at the qualifying race. Jason Lawrence is in this group. He turned out to have the fastest qualifying time of all the riders.
IMG_1759edit
Still waiting.
IMG_1763edit
Sighting lap.
IMG_1764edit

This is the coolest thing to me: the jumps!
IMG_1768edit
Daytona is the only racetrack that allows the fans to stand trackside.
IMG_1771edit
Fanless checks the image on his camera. Yes, that’s my hair in the corner.
IMG_1780edit
Bobby Garrison
IMG_1773edit
Jacob Marsack
IMG_1781edit
Ryan Sipes
IMG_1782edit
Daniel McCoy (I think; I can’t really see his number.)
IMG_1778edit
We got to see some of the riders in the pits. This is Andrew Short.
IMG_1783edit

Ivan Tedesco
IMG_1784edit
Kevin Windham, winner of last year’s Daytona Supercross.
IMG_1786edit
The track after practice/qualifiers.
IMG_1787edit

After we walked around the pits for a while, we grabbed some lunch, then walked around the display tents outside the stadium. This bike reminded me of a Transformer.
IMG_1790edit
This display from Honda was my favorite. Very eye-catching.
IMG_1791editIMG_1792edit

Horrendous pic. We were so sick (and fairly exhausted) by this point, but I really wanted a “we were here” picture. 
IMG_1796edit
Nico Izzi in the Lites Main Event. I like him just because his last name is so fun! The whole time he’s racing we’re like “Izzi winning?” “What place Izzi in?”
IMG_1825edit

Picked up this hot photographer at the track. 😉
IMG_1827edit
I think this was the Main Event.
IMG_1834edit

This might be James Stewart. I can’t tell because it’s hard to see the number on the bike. (I told you these pictures were terrible.)
IMG_1838edit

Yeah, I’m pretty sure this was the Main Event.
IMG_1852edit

Ivan Tedesco (#9), Tim Ferry (I think; is that #15 in the back?), and Ryan Villapoto (#2).
IMG_1865edit

Chad Reed (in front) fights for first place.IMG_1882edit
Chad Reed passed Jason Lawrence in the 16th lap and managed to win.
IMG_1896edit

Crossing the track to get to the prize podium. IMG_1897edit

Jason Lawrence (this was his first ever 450 race, and he took 2nd; not too shabby!), Chad Reed (1st), and Davi Millsaps (3rd) accepting their prize trophies.
IMG_1900edit

Davi Millsaps (hottie!)
IMG_1904edit

And then my batteries died. Luckily they held out until the end!

By the time we got out of the stadium, we were both feeling like complete crap. So we picked up food at the Checkers drive-thru, checked into the hotel, popped some Zicam, and hit the sack. Good times.

If you want to see more pics from the races, check out Fanless’ flickr page.

Peace out, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

