Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

i was there! February 10, 2009

Filed under: Photography — Lulu @ 4:12 pm

On Saturday, Fanless and I joined Tere and Max for a trip to Robert Is Here in Florida City. I believe when Cubans tell you something is “en casa del carajo,” they are indeed directing you towards Florida City, because this place is F-A-A-A-R!!! But I digress. Here is our outing, captured in photos.

Here Max is going over the plans with Christian while Tere looks amused (he’s not really, but it looks that way, doesn’t it??)
IMG_1584

We’re here!
IMG_1591
IMG_1600
“Hang on, let me just shift into 2nd gear.”
IMG_1602
”Alright, we’re off!” 
IMG_1603
IMG_1605
Hottie!
IMG_1607
Duck… duck… GOOSE! (Get it?? ‘Cause they’re ducks and… Oh, never mind.)
IMG_1609
“S’up?”
IMG_1610
IMG_1613
After our experience at Robert Is Here, we decided to go grab lunch at The Mutineer on US-1, since none of us had ever been there.

Here’s Max creating his next masterpiece, Venus in Crayola.
IMG_1616
Pictures can not fully capture the seventies “Love-Boat-ian”-lounge feel of this place. Even the muzak playing over the sound system had the aura of polyester and gold medallions oozing from it.
IMG_1618
But the food was good! I had the Gorgonzola Steak Sandwich.
IMG_1619
And Fanless had the Hot & Spicy Shrimp and the Sauteéd Gator. (Normally I always take a bite of his food. Because that’s what I do. This time he was like “try it” “no” “come on, try it” “no” “just one bite” “no”…)
IMG_1622

So that was our day. How was your weekend??

 

Leave a Reply

