Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

My Dream weekend with jordan pundik February 2, 2009

Filed under: Music,Photography,Travel — Lulu @ 4:19 pm

Just wanted to share pics from our weekend trip to Ft. Myers/Estero to see New Found Glory and Panic at the Disco.

Getting gas in Miami before hitting the road. Check out the hottie pumping my gas! 😉

One of our specific plans for this trip was to hit up the Red Robin in Ft. Myers. This was my first time ever visiting one, since we don’t have them in South Florida.
Red Robin by you.
This picture cracks me up because this was right after he said “you know, I really don’t like being in pictures.” To which I replied, “I like taking pictures and you know that. And I need pictures to scrapbook.” Click! (That’s the part that makes me laugh. Dude. Seriously? It’s always about the scrapping!)
Waiting for lunch by you.

Mmm-mmmm… It’s a Whiskey-something-BBQ burger (Babe, what was the name??). Sooo good! I had already taken a couple of bites when I was like “Oh shit! I have to take a picture!” Sorry if that’s gross. And I had a deliciously refreshing Freckled Lemonade to wash it down. (Let me just point out that it took me three meals to finish this burger: lunch and dinner on Saturday, and breakfast on Sunday.)
Red Robin... YUM! by you.

At the Germain Arena in Estero, Florida. This was the opening band, Vega Under Fire. They are a local Gulf Coast band, and I was really impressed with them.
Vega Under Fire by you.
Vega Under Fire by you.

And finally, the moment I’d been waiting for… New Found Glory!! OMG – they were fantastic!! My future husband, Jordan, is such a great entertainer. He really knows how to work the audience.
New Found Glory by you.
New Found Glory by you.New Found Glory by you.
Our seats were fairly close to the stage. This was the floor crowd (mostly FGCU students, since the university hosted the concert).
Floor crowd by you.

And right here is when my camera battery died. LOL!! So, unfortunately, no pics of Panic at the Disco. Suffice it to say that they were fairly awesome as well. I mean, really? How can you go wrong with a band that uses words like naivete, martyrdom, rationality, ridiculously and auberginein their lyrics?? Love!

The following day, we checked out of our hotel and decided to take a quick drive through Ft. Myers Beach before heading back to Miami. We came across a Super Target (squee!!) and stopped in to browse, and I picked up new batteries (on clearance for $2.48!) for my camera.

We made a quick stop at the beach (when I say quick, I mean it; I was illegally parked and we had to haul ass so I wouldn’t get towed) and snapped a few pics. This was Fanless’ first trip to the West Coast of Florida and my… sixth, I think? I just love the Gulf Coast beaches; I find them to be more beautiful than the East Coast beaches (Miami Beach? Ick!). Bonus: it was a beautiful, clear, 72 degree day out.
Ft Myers Beach, FL by you.
Ft Myers Beach, FL by you.
This is totally one of those “babe, stand here so I can take your picture!” pictures.
Ft Myers Beach, FL by you.

“Wait! Just one more!”
Ft Myers Beach, FL by you.

And with that, we got in the car and headed home. Just in time for the Super Bowl… which we didn’t watch!

Peace out, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

