Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

scrappiness January 19, 2009

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 4:40 pm

So I really have no idea where the burst of creative mojo came from last week, but I managed to get twelve layouts completed between Monday and Thursday. I basically just took a very casual approach to the whole thing, working on three layouts per night, finishing them at a very leisurely pace. If everything came together in one shot, I glued it down and moved on to the next. If not, I left everything laid out on the desk and went to do something else. When I felt the urge to come back to it, I did. I felt absolutely no pressure at all to “hurry up – get it done – NOW!!!” as I normally do, so I think that made it easier for me.

The first 10 layouts are for the Washington trip album (I still have several more to do, but this was a good jumpstart). I don’t usually do multi-photo layouts, but in this case I wanted to group pictures together by subject or event, to give the story a nice flow. I kept the layouts very simple; mostly photos, little to no embellishments, a simple title and some journaling (oh yeah, journaling – for me – is the hardest thing to do, so I’m pretty proud of myself for including it here). I didn’t want to make the entire album match, because I wanted each page to stand on its own, so I used a mix of papers from Collage Press, Making Memories, SEI and Basic Grey. However, I did want to make them cohesive, so I tried to pick colors, patterns and textures that work together. And while I don’t want to make this a Christmas album, the reason for our trip was to be there for “Family Christmas,” so I did make a couple of Christmas-y pages and want to include a few more.

The last two layouts are about my sister’s birthday dinner in December. All the papers, embellishments and alphas are from the Basic Grey Ambrosia collection, which I absolutely LOOOOVE. OMG, I love that collection so much I want to marry it! The colors make it elegant, but the designs and patterns keep it fun. I used black cardstock for the background and grouped everything towards the center of the page to make the pics the main focus, then used the beautiful papers and embellishments to add pops of color and help “anchor” the photos. I think these are probably two of my favorite pages ever.

12 layouts 011209-011509

(They are all 12×12 layouts. They look smaller because I had to stand on a chair in order to fit them all in the picture.)

Hopefully, the mojo will keep flowing this week and I can crank out some more pages about the trip!! Fingers crossed!!

Alright, back to work. Peace out, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

