Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

photoscape January 8, 2009

Filed under: Photography,Technology — Lulu @ 4:43 pm

Because I’m a helpful kind of girl, I thought I would just share this recent discovery: Photoscape 3.3.

Normally I use Photoshop for photo editing, but I’m not an expert by any means. I find it a bit cumbersome. Not to mention that I think Fanless gets annoyed with my never-ending “babe, how do I do {insert random desired effect here} in Photoshop?” questions. I was reading an article online (I can’t remember the site or URL, but if I find it again I’ll post it here) and they mentioned a free photo editing program called “Photoscape.” It is a simple download and I decided it couldn’t hurt to try it out.

So let me just give you a few examples of what can be done with the program. Here is the original photo I started out with:
IMG_0801sm

I simply selected the “Sepia” color filter from the “Home” tab to change the coloring of the photo. Then I selected “Auto Contrast” (at middle level), then “Brighten” (also at middle level). Finally, I selected “Vignetting #1” from the list of filters. Here is the finished photo:

IMG_0801sm

For this example, all I did was select “Cinema – High” from the filter list, then added “Lens Flare” to the glass (I upped the number to 13). Here is the resulting photo:

IMG_0801sm2

Anyway, those are just two examples of things you can do with Photoscape. I literally justdownloaded the program within the last half hour, so I haven’t had a lot of time to play with it. But so far I like the ease of applying the filters and effects. I can’t wait to discover all the fun, artsy stuff I can do to my pictures!

If you decide to download and use the program, let me know how it goes. I’d love to see your results. Have fun!

 

Leave a Reply

