Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

the great northwest – part 4 December 29, 2008

Filed under: Personal,Photography,Travel — Lulu @ 4:30 pm

WARNING: PHOTO-HEAVY POST!!

These are all pics from our visit to the Seattle Space Needle and the Seattle Center.

The Experience Music Project and Science Fiction Museum (that oddly-shaped building in front of us) stands a few feet away from the Space Needle.
WA - Day 5 by you.

A little history: The Seattle Space Needle was designed by artist Edward E. Carlson in 1959, and built as the dominant central structure for the Seattle World’s Fair in 1962. It stands 605-ft. tall and cost $4.5 million to build.

According to our elevator guide (I’m not kidding), it takes 41 seconds to reach the top of the needle, at a speed of 10mph.
WA - Day 5 by you.

The Sky City Restaurant atop the Space Needle offers panoramic views of Seattle, the Olympic and Cascade mountain ranges, and Elliott Bay.
WA - Day 5 by you.
The rectangular-domed structure at the bottom left of this picture is the Key Arena, where the Sonics used to play before moving to Oklahoma City.
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.

I love that you can see the mountains in the back of this pic.
WA - Day 5 by you.

This is probably my favorite.
WA - Day 5 by you.

Fanless got artsy with my camera.
WA - Day 5 by you.

The restaurant’s drink menu featured locally brewed beers and wines from Washington vineyards only. It was a pretty extensive list!

Here, Fanless samples one of the local beers.
WA - Day 5 by you.

Downtown Seattle (not all that different from downtown Miami, actually).
WA - Day 5 by you.

After lunch, we went up one level to the observation deck. Don’t let the smiles fool you; it was “f-word-ing” COLD up there!!
WA - Day 5 by you.
When in Rome…
WA - Day 5 by you.
We left the Space Needle and went across the street to the Seattle Center, where they had a large-size Christmas village on display.
WA - Day 5 by you.

WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.
“The Boy and the Plastic Bubble” (See the face? That’s the “Oh God, more pictures??” face.)
WA - Day 5 by you.

WA - Day 5 by you.
I took this one as we were leaving the Seattle Center.
WA - Day 5 by you.

Tomorrow will be the last Washington post.

Peace out, yo!!

 

Leave a Reply

