Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

The great northwest – part 3 December 28, 2008

Filed under: Personal,Photography,Travel — Lulu @ 5:01 pm

WARNING: PHOTO-HEAVY POST!

These are all pics from our next to last day in Washington. Most of the scenery shots were taken from the backseat of Aunt Linda’s car, traveling from Othello to Seattle (approx. 3 hours), so they are a little blurry.

Apple orchard
WA - Day 5 by you.
Highway 26
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.

Crossing the Columbia River (Othello is located in the Columbia Basin)
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.

After you cross the Columbia River, you get onto Highway 90 (Snoqualmie Pass).
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.

We made a quick stop at Aunt Linda’s house in Ellensburg (Fanless and I want to live there; it is such a cute house).
WA - Day 5 by you.

Back on Highway 90.

Once you pass the Columbia Basin area (which is mostly desert), you start getting into the “wetter” side of the state. It’s a noticeable change, as all of a sudden you are surrounded by evergreens, and eventually you hit the Cascade mountains. The snow was actually a lot heavier on this side of the state, which is unusual for Washington.

WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.

Once you cross this bridge, you can exit on the right into a town called Roslyn. This is where the exterior shots for the tv show “Northern Exposure” were filmed.
WA - Day 5 by you.
We really started seeing a LOT of snow as we got into the Cascades.WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.
At the base of this hill is the rest stop we stopped at on our way to Othello the first night (it was so foggy that night, I didn’t even know there WAS a hill!)
WA - Day 5 by you.

I know why they call Washington “the Evergreen State".
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.

We made a quick stop in North Bend to use the restroom and get some jerky.
WA - Day 5 by you.
WA - Day 5 by you.
We continued on to Bellevue to pick up Uncle Russ, then went on to Seattle.
WA - Day 5 by you.
Part 4 will be pretty much all pics from Seattle.

Peace out, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

