Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

T Minus 12 hours! December 10, 2008

Filed under: Personal — Lulu @ 5:11 pm

It’s here, it’s here!! Tomorrow is the day! Fanless and I are heading to Washington to visit his family and spend a few days on Grandma and Grandpa’s farm. We’ll also get to spend a day in Seattle before we return, which I’m super excited about. Seattle has been on my “must visit” list ever since I discovered Nirvana and strong coffee!

Admittedly I’m freaking out a little bit. Not about meeting my potential, hypothetical, future family-in-law. No, I’m freaking about the flights. Me, I’m not so much a fan of the flying thing. I’m trying to remain calm about it and not let Fanless know how freaked out I am so he won’t get annoyed. But really, right now I feel like if I’m  duct-taped to a chair after drinking a 2-liter of Mountain Dew and an entire colada of Cuban coffee! Normally I would pop a Tylenol PM as soon as I planted my ass in my assigned seat, but I promised Fanless I would stay awake and watch movies on the laptop with him. So we’ll see how this goes. I’m going to approach it as sort of a psychological lab test. By the way, the fact that we have to switch planes in Atlanta isn’t really helping the matter. Just sayin’.

Overall, I’m just happy to finally be taking a real vacation, away from Miami and away from work. I haven’t really had a vacation since last year. And technically, since I spent last year’s vacation stuck in a hospital waiting to have superfluous internal organs removed, I guess you could say it’s actually been two years. So I’m about due.

According to my PHFMIL (potential, hypothetical, future mother-in-law) we have a full agenda planned. Getting the Christmas tree, family photo shoot (with an actual backdrop and everything), Christmas lunch, family auction (as in the family participates in the auction; not auctioning off family members)… And Fanless was worried he was going to be bored!

Before anyone asks – no, we will not be going to Forks, La Push, or Port Angeles. There will be no treetop-flying or glittery-skinned goodness. Oh, and if you want to read a hilarious review of the “Twilight” movie – from a male perspective – please visit Anilu’s blog. Her hubby, Juan, was forcedcoerced lovingly encouraged to partake in a dinner and a movie date night, and the movie was “Twilight.” I almost peed a little reading his review: Part 1 and Part 2. Unfortunately, we won’t have internet access until we get back, so I have to wait to read his take on the ending.

Alright, I have to go finish packing and checking my list (twice!) so I’ll have to leave you now. You all behave yourselves!

Peace out, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

