Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

yaaawwwn… November 28, 2008

Filed under: Personal,Random Thoughts — Lulu @ 5:14 pm

Happy Friday! Fanless and I both have the day off today so we’re just hanging out at his place. I’m watching “The Starter Wife” while he’s geeking out with his podcasts. I’ve had a busy couple of days (laundry, grocery shopping, cooking…), so it’s nice to just kind of veg out today.

Last night Fanless and I had Thanksgiving dinner at my niece’s sister-in-law’s house. It was a relatively small group – just 11 of us – compared to the massive amounts of food on the table. A huge turkey AND a honey-baked ham, sweet potatoes, cheddar mashed potatoes, stuffing… and it was all really goooood! Dinner was followed by the “Buffet O’Desserts”: pumpkin, apple, pecan and cherry pies; pumpkin flan, and cinnamon crumb coffee cake. I also discovered that I actually like pumpkin pie! Go figure – all this time I’ve thought it would be totally gross and gag-inducing. Not so much.

Although this was my first Thanksgiving without my parents, it was nice to be with family. I loved having Fanless there, along with my sister and her BF, my niece and her hubby, his parents, sister and nephew, and his sister’s BF. I also took a lot of pictures to send to my mom and dad.

Anyway, that’s about it for us. I know, thrilling, right?

P.S. Countdown to Washington = 13 days!!

 

Leave a Reply

