Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

New “old” photos in one click October 2, 2008

Filed under: Photography,Technology — Lulu @ 5:33 pm

I read about this really cool Japanese website on Elise Blaha’s blog. You can upload your pics and it converts them into “old” photos. Being a lover of black and white photos, I am so in love with this effect!

I used my absolute favorite picture of The Boy and me to test it out. I’ll also show you the comparison to Photoshop, because while I can get around Photoshop, I am by no means an expert. If you are unfamiliar with Photoshop tools and filters, the Bakumatsu site makes it really easy to enhance the visual interest of your photos in one click.

Here is the original image. The only thing I did to it was adjust the brightness in Photoshop (it was taken inside a dark bar, so the lighting – even with the flash – was pretty bad):

TR1

Here it is after I altered it in Photoshop. I used “grayscale” to remove the color, and “blur” to smooth out any blemishes and “unevenness.”

TR4

I like that it’s black and white, but I feel it’s a little “flat.” It almost looks like it was colored in with a black Sharpie. That’s okay, but I’d like to see something more interesting.

And now here it is after using the Bakumatsu tool:

oldphoto[1]

I really love that it has that old grainy newspaper feel to it. I think the effect really lends interest and “texture” to the photo. I can’t wait to print this out and use it on a layout!

Anyway – Bakumatsu… check it out, play around, enjoy. It’s free!

Peace out!

 

Leave a Reply

