Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

will it ever end?? July 24, 2008

Filed under: Miscellany,Random Thoughts — Lulu @ 6:11 pm

This has been one of the LONGEST. WEEKS. EVER!!! Seriously, it just needs to end already. It’s probably because I have stuff I’m looking forward to this weekend (you know, like when you’re a kid and it’s Christmas Eve and you just want it to be Christmas morning already so you can open your gifts but it feels like it’s NEVER going to get here? Like that.)

So let’s see… what have I got going on this weekend? Well, tomorrow night I’m running a couple of errands after work, then going over to the boy’s house to have dinner and watch some boat races with him. I don’t usually see him during the week unless we have a specific outing planned so I really value our time together on the weekends, even if it’s only a few hours.

On Saturday I get to scrap ALL DAY LONG with my beloved Scrappy Girls!! YAY! It’s Ady’s Birthday Scrap Party and we’re all getting together bright and early at (Attention, Stalkers!) Scrapbook Central in Coconut Creek to enjoy a full day of our three favorite activities: scrapping, eating (pizza), and talking… and talking… and talking. Which undoubtedly will lead to laughing. A lot of laughing. A lot of very loud and obnoxious laughing which will garner us many dirty looks from the other (quiet) scrappy people there. Oh well! We only get to hang out together like this once in a while so they’ll just have to suck it up and deal. Besides, what do you expect when you get a bunch of Latinas in one room together and hop them up on soda, birthday cake, and glue?

Oh, and I know I need this scrap time because I’ve been literally jonesing for it. Even today as I was printing out pictures and packing my crop bag (yes, believe it or not, I did not wait until 20 minutes before the crop to pack! Only for you, Ady!), I had to fight the urge to start making layouts. I think the last time I really sat down and scrapped was at Damaris’ house about two months ago. Of course, with my luck, come Saturday I’ll totally loose my mojo. I did make a card today, though. It’s for my BFF and I want to get it in the mail this weekend. I’ll post pics at a later time.

Sunday we are celebrating Brandon’s (the boy’s BFF) birthday. I *HEART* Brandon and his adorable wife, Kim. They are just the sweetest and most genuine people. Actually, all of the boy’s friends are awesome. Every time we hang out with any of them I always tell him later how much I like his friends. And they all came to my birthday gathering last week. That made me feel really good, because you always want the people that are important to your significant other to like you. Brandon and Kim even drove down from Palm Beach/Lake Worth (over an hour away) just to hang out! How cool is that?

Alright, I guess that’s enough rambling for now. It’s almost time for "So You Think You Can Dance", then "Burn Notice." Priorities, folks!

 

Leave a Reply

