Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

this used to be more exciting July 17, 2008

Filed under: Life,Personal — Lulu @ 6:14 pm

Somehow birthdays just seemed more fun and exciting when you were a kid, didn’t they? Parties and cake and presents and games and (in the case of Latins) piñatas… As an adult, not so much.

Last night I had a pre-birthday dinner with the Scrappy Girls and Tere. We enjoyed some delicious Puerto Rican food and very lively – and LOUD – conversation at Old San Juan Restaurant in West Miami. The food was great, the company was the best, and I scored some very cool birthday booty! Scrappy stuff from AC, MM and KI Memories, an awesome Stampin’ Up stamp set and ink, adhesives for my Tombo roller (God knows you can never have enough adhesive!; at least I can’t) and not one, not two, but THREE Target gift cards (my mecca)! Do these girls know me or what??

Today is my actual birthday and, luckily, my employer gives the day off for your birthday. It worked out perfectly because I needed to take my car in for some minor maintenance and didn’t want to waste a personal or vacation day on it. So basically, today I took my car to the shop, ran a couple of errands, got a desperately needed pedicure, and now I’m just sitting here waiting until 7pm to pick up some books at my friend’s BF’s house. Tonight I’m looking forward to "So You Think You Can Dance" and new episodes of "Fear Itself" and "Burn Notice" (OMG, how in love with Jeffrey Donovan am I??) I tell you – exciting stuff, folks! I’m a woman on the verge!

Oh well, maybe someone will surprise me with a piñata before the day is over. And if it’s filled with Butterfingers and cash, so much the better! 😉

 

Leave a Reply

