Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Good Charlotte May 2, 2008

Filed under: Entertainment,Music — Lulu @ 6:41 pm

So last night I had the pleasure of attending Sunfest in Palm Beach with Fanless and three of his closest friends. While the five-day festival is a lot of fun in and of itself – plenty of entertainment kiosks, food and drinks – the main reason for attending (for me, anyway) was for the music. Last night was "New Music" night and they offered a special "15 Bands for 15 Dollars" ticket. Most of the bands were of the Indie/Alternative variety (yay!), including The Whigs, Scary Kids Scaring Kids, The Blakes, and The Postmarks. And the (unofficial) "headliners" were none other than Good Charlotte!

Honestly, while I do like some of GC’s songs, I was never a huge fan. I’m more familiar with Joel Madden’s dating history than his musical bio (Us magazine, yo). But they gave an awesome show! And they totally and completely won me over when they performed one of my favorite songs from my all-time, number one favorite band (no kidding – we’re talking love for over 20 years here): The Cure!!

 

Leave a Reply

